The Weeping Willow

in #gedwriting7 years ago

So recently I have come down with a serious case of writer’s block. Any time I try and work on my two series that I have at the moment it's like a huge boulder has dropped down on all my ideas. Slamming everything in its path so I took a break and remembered that someone once told me that a good cure for writer’s block is to write a couple of short stories until the boulder has been lifted. So this story will not be a new series. I hope you all enjoy it and let me know what you think. I have decided to challenge myself a little and make a 100 word story out of one single picture.


Image credit: pintrest.com

Behind my house stood a large yellow grassy field, and in the centre of this field stood an old weeping willow with a small pond surrounding it. Every day after school I would head over to the field and sit under the curtain of branches that surrounded the tree and its little pond. The tree would lull me into a calm world where I had no problems, fears, or worries. I didn't have to compete with my popular sister for a boy's attention or even think. I could simply just sit and listen to the whistling wind singing its lullaby.

Image Credit: wigflip.com/sreenbot

Sort:  

I love this! Hope your writer's block goes away soon. :)

Thanks i hope so to

Sweet story! You packed a ton into a hundred words. I had a weeping willow in my front yard when I was a little kid and spent many hours sitting upon its first branch. Nice memories, which your story brought back, thanks!

Im so glad you enjoyed it. They have always been my favourite trees. To me they just hold so much mystery. I was thinking of doing another 100 word story if people enjoyed this one. I would love to know what u think.

I say, go for it if you feel the inspiration to write another 100 word story!

What I really like about this story is how you set the general scene very well, then provide the spark of a very specific story. You speak generally of the field, pond, and tree. To me, this symbolizes the world which the tree/person is set apart from, by the pond. Then specifically, the person is in some sort of competition within her peer group which is causing some distress. Being able to be set apart, as the tree is apart from the field, has the potential for both positive and negative future plot elements, which the reader has to imagine for themselves since the story is only 100 words.

Then of course there is something archetypal about going back to nature to contemplate life. In Genesis, the action took place at a tree, where people first found out that life contains both good and evil.

That's why I think you put a ton of meaning in 100 words! I enjoyed this one, and if you decide to post another, I'll be looking for it. :-)

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Mar 16. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.31 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 16 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56208.10
ETH 2476.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26