You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Weeping Willow

in #gedwriting8 years ago

Sweet story! You packed a ton into a hundred words. I had a weeping willow in my front yard when I was a little kid and spent many hours sitting upon its first branch. Nice memories, which your story brought back, thanks!

Sort:  

Im so glad you enjoyed it. They have always been my favourite trees. To me they just hold so much mystery. I was thinking of doing another 100 word story if people enjoyed this one. I would love to know what u think.

I say, go for it if you feel the inspiration to write another 100 word story!

What I really like about this story is how you set the general scene very well, then provide the spark of a very specific story. You speak generally of the field, pond, and tree. To me, this symbolizes the world which the tree/person is set apart from, by the pond. Then specifically, the person is in some sort of competition within her peer group which is causing some distress. Being able to be set apart, as the tree is apart from the field, has the potential for both positive and negative future plot elements, which the reader has to imagine for themselves since the story is only 100 words.

Then of course there is something archetypal about going back to nature to contemplate life. In Genesis, the action took place at a tree, where people first found out that life contains both good and evil.

That's why I think you put a ton of meaning in 100 words! I enjoyed this one, and if you decide to post another, I'll be looking for it. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64578.03
ETH 2533.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64