SEC-S20W1 | 1st Course: Salads

I am pleased to participate in gastronomy first course this season ( 20) where the teachers talked about SALAD, its types and how to set the menu for personal portion.

SEC-S20W1.pngDesigned with canva

I will proceed to answer the question given by the teachers;

Yes, I have prepared a 3- course menu at home before and it was made up of veggies as the starter, potato chips and grilled fish as the main course while fruit parfait and yogurt was served as the dessert.

With my experience, I have noticed that when ever we prepare a 3 to 5 course meal at home, it must be for an event.

I only get to prepare 3- course menu during birthday celebration, family get-together and for friends while chilling at home.

For the purpose of this contest, I will pick one type of salad and prepare which is mixed salad.

Since mixed salad have more ingredients than the simple ones, I tried my best to make mine look rich and healthy.

Let's see the ingredients and preparation procedures used;

IMG_6663.jpegIngredients

Mixed Salad Ingredients
  • Cabbage
  • Carrot
  • Cucumber
  • Eggs
  • Sweet corn
  • Mayonnaise
  • Sprite
Preparation Process

Step 1: The first step was to wash and boil the eggs using moist heat method.

IMG_6665.jpegBoiling eggs

Step 2: I washed my veggies; carrot, cabbage and cucumber while the eggs were boiling. This salad making reminded me of different types of cuts in the kitchen so I started with giving my cabbage chiffonade cut.

IMG_6667.jpegSlicing cabbage

Step 3: I used grater to grate the carrots into a light pattern.

IMG_6670.jpeggrating carrot

Step 4: In this step, I was able to give the cucumber mirepoix cut after peeling out the greenish part and removing the seeds.

IMG_6671.jpegCucumber

Step 5: Using sieve, I drained out water from the sweet corn.

IMG_6674.jpegSweet corn

Step 6: for this salad recipe, you can only use egg whites. I removed the yolk and sliced the white to my desired sizes.

IMG_6676.jpegSlicing egg white

I arranged these ingredients in layers in a bowl then put it in the fridge to cool for 15 minutes.

IMG_6680.jpegBefore putting in the fridge

Step 7: I prepared my salad cream using sprite to smoothen mayonnaise. This will make the salad light and more enjoyable.

IMG_6690.jpegAdding sprite to mayonnaiseIMG_6692.jpegProcess of getting a smooth mixture

Step 8: I added little quantity of the salad to the cream and mixed properly. Here's the final result of my healthy salad.

IMG_6695.jpegMixing salad with the creamIMG_6698.jpeg Final look of the salad

After preparing the salad, I proceeded to serve in an attractive and satisfying way. Check the menu below;

IMG_6685.jpegHand written by me

I imagined a 3- course menu where salad is the starter and came up with this;

IMG_6701.jpeg3-course menu

You can see above that I have salad as the starter , rice and beans jollof prepare with fish as the main dish followed by apple smoothie served as the dessert.

IMG_6705.jpegA selfie with the salad

Thank you gastronomy team for this interesting class for week 1. I would like to invite friends (@mvchacin, @josepha and @dequeen) to join the class.

Sort:  
Loading...

Hi, I find your salad very nice.

Excuse for asking, but why not to use the yellow part of the eggs?
I also noticed that you prepare the mayonnaise adding Sprite, it's interesting to me, I don't consume very much mayonnaise, but I think I'll try that mix soon, it must be nice.

Best wishes in the course.

Wow you have served a very healthy salad following a great simple method. The end was more beautiful and tempting. These raw salad ingredients are very beneficial for our health.
Welcome to this challenge and I wish you success.

Thank you for your valuable contributions

Your salad looks yummy 😋 your step by step preparation is detailed and understandable.

Your mixed salad has complete ingredients and it looks yummy. You really read and understood the lessons because your post has really captured what you learned and is required of you.

Keep it up

Thank you for your positive comment

🤗🤗🤗

@tipu curate

;) Holisss...

--
This is a manual curation from the @tipU Curation Project.

Hi friend your slate is look like very yummy.you have explain step by step very easy method .best of luck my dear.

Anda rajin sekali dengan membuat 3 menu untuk menyambut tamu di rumah anda, langkah-langkah membuat salad juga membuat saya paham bagaimana pembuatannya. Sukses selalu friend

I’m glad that my salad recipe is helpful. Thank you for your comment

Hola mi querida amiga @adylinah, un placer saludarte

Excelente trabajo amiga, todo estuvo acorde a lo exigido en este 1er Tiempo con la elaboración de esa deliciosa ensalada como primer plato del cual cuídaste cada detalle para su elaboración.

Te felicito por tu excelente trabajo. Gracias por compartir con nosotros tu plato de entrada para este 1er Tiempo de nuestro menú. Un abrazo 🤗

I am glad you spotted my efforts and appreciate it. Many thanks for your positive feedback 🤗

CONGRATULATIONS!!

Your post has been supported by TEAM SHINING STARS. We support quality posts, good comments anywhere, and any tags.


1000152665.gif

Curated by : @josepha

Many thanks @josepha for the support 🙏🏻

Wow the combination of your salad looks so delicious.made of all varieties of class of food .Vatamin , carbohydrate, fat etc. I can just imagine how tasteful it be inthe mouth .I wish you the best with your entry

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57959.67
ETH 2343.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44