SEC-S19 / W1 | Good Food Handling Practices and Types of Knives Used in the Kitchen

It is necessary to adopt and maintain high standards of food hygiene because it enhance food quality and ensure that our health is safe and in good shape. In life, there are consequences for every action and the negative impacts of poor food hygiene are deadly just as it was mentioned by our teachers in this course.

I will answer the questions that was given below;

The Good Dietary Practice that I Frequently Practice at Home

IMG_5532.jpegWashing of hands

Good hygiene is among the first thing children are being taught from infant especially washing of hands. I can recall when I was little, each time I cried and begged my mom to let me join in doing the kitchen work, her first reply would be "go and wash your hands". Once I'm done washing my hands, she will give me maggi to open. After a while, I don't get to be reminded, I will go straight to water and soap before requesting to participate in any form of cooking work and that has been my lifestyle till date.

The second good dietary practice is covering of hair or packing up long hairs. Personally, dealing with long hair while cooking or baking in the kitchen can be frustrating and it comes with a lot of discomfort and it is also unhealthy to prepare food while long hairs are flowing around.

The Bad Practices that we Should not Use in the Kitchen

IMG_5409.jpegStoring dirty plates

Kitchen is an important place and it is very much necessary to keep it clean and tidy at any given time (before and after cooking). We should avoid the practice of staying in a dirty environment to prepare food ingredients. Once there are dirty dishes and spoiled food particles in the kitchen, we should clean up first before cooking.

Other Good Practices I would like to Add to the List Shared in this Course

IMG_5445.jpegClean the sink

The good kitchen practices has already been explained extensively in details by the teachers but I would like to add few ones;

  • Cleaning surface area before and after cooking
  • Wear your chef cap or tie your hair properly
  • Avoid staying in an unpleasant environment to eat
  • Have a special container for each ingredient
  • Cover your food properly when preserving it
  • Make use of your kitchen aprons
  • Pay attention to fridge and freezer, it is important to keep them neat as well
  • Learn to wash the kitchen sink properly after cooking and also mop the floor.

IMG_20220926_130704.jpegWear apron and cover your hair

Other Bad Practices I would like to Add to the List Shared in this Course

The following are the bad practices I would like to add;

  • Have a special spoon for tasting of food when cooking. Do not put spoon in your mouth and dip it back to the general food.
  • Do not leave the kitchen wall dirty after cooking

IMG_5402.jpegDirty kitchen wall after cooking

  • Have different sponges for your kitchen utensils (pots, plates and cups/ glasses should have a different sponge)
  • Do not store dirty plates overnight especially pots for days in the kitchen, it attracts bacterias and unnecessary insects.
  • Do not put waste or food particles in the sink.

IMG_5394.jpegAvoid putting waste in the sink

My Favorite Kitchen Knives and What I Use Them for

I have many knives in my kitchen; the bread knife which I use for cutting of bread, cake and also use during baking and icing process.

IMG_5388.jpegKitchen knife

The regular kitchen knife ( big and small). I use the big one mostly for peeling of yam, potatoes, plantain and cutting of meat and fish. The small knife is used mainly for onions and peeling of fresh ginger and garlic.

IMG_5397.jpegSmall knife for slicing of onions

Many thanks to our able teachers for making course number 1; Good Food Handling Practices and Types of Knives Used in the Kitchen easy to understand and comprehend.

I will invite @mvchacin @josepha and @anasuleidy to join the class.

Photo credit: @adylinah

Sort:  
Loading...

Saludos amiga, hay algo que me desagrada y son los desperdicio en el fregadero, da mal aspecto, estoy deacuerdo con usted, gracias por compartir su post, bendiciones

Yes, it’s always irritating especially when mixed with water and dirty dishes. Thank you for your contribution🤗

Hola amigae gusto mucho tu post, sabes bien cómo mantener tu cocina limpia y ordenada , lo que más me gustó fue subida se tener una esponja para lavar cada utensilio a veces me han dado agua en algún sitio y el vaso huele mal y porque la esponja está contaminada pienso yo.

Ohh! Sorry about that bad experience. The sponge was also used to wash other dishes before using it on the glass.

Thank you for your contribution

Exactamente es lo primero que me enseñaron en casa, lavarse muy bien las manos antes de iniciar cualquier trabajo en la cocina, y así lo hago con mi hija.

Muy completa su participación, comparto sus explicaciones plenamente.

Solo puedo desearle mucho éxito en el reto.

Thank you for your contribution and support friend!

¡Hola! Excelente publicación amiga. Has agregado algunas buenas prácticas que creo no haber leído antes, como el limpiar el suelo y las paredes, así como usar delantal. Sin duda la cocina no es sólo cocinar y ya, sino que también es cuidado, limpieza y orden.

Thank you for visiting my blog!

TEAM 5

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator07 We support quality posts, good comments anywhere, and any tags.



SEARCH team.png

Curated by : @nahela

Many thanks @nahela for the support 🙏🏻

Hi! Excellent post my friend. You've added some good practices that I don't think I've read before, such as cleaning the floor and walls, as well as wearing an apron. Surely cooking is not just cooking and that's it, it's also care, cleanliness and tidiness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.034
BTC 64333.84
ETH 2760.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65