Six Ornamental Spring Plants & Flowers That You Can Eat! (Plus Recipes)

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)

Six ornamental spring plants &  flowers.jpg

I've been delighted to discover that a lot of ornamental flowers and plants are quite edible.

I'll even say that most of them are tasty offering complex and unique flavours. It's just a matter of harvesting them at the perfect time before they become bitter.

Often the optimal times to consume them is in early spring when they are young. These items make a delightful addition to the garden and dinner table. We've started planting extra of those plants that we enjoy eating.

Before you head out to the garden and harvest flowers for the dinner table, it’s very important to keep in mind that some flowers are either poisonous or parts of them are. Make sure you made a positive identification before consuming. Always avoid flowers that may have been sprayed with chemicals!

Tulips

Beautiful organic and chemical free tulips petals make a lovely addition to the table in spring. Peppery and sweet, the flavours vary in intensity and profile from type to type. Give one a quick nibble to see how you like it. I like to wait until the petals are just about to fall so we can enjoy their beauty fully before eating. Avoid consuming the bulb, they can be poisonous.

You can read more about eating tulips here

flower-3358111_960_720.jpgImage:Pixabay

Hostas

The young chutes of the hosta are edible. With a flavor something between lettuce and asparagus, Hosta petal can easily be substituted for greens in salads, stir fry, wilted greens, sandwiches etc. Select shoots that are young and tender, you'll find older leaves are bitter and far less palatable. I haven't had the pleasure of trying this one yet - it's a new discovery and we are eagerly awaiting the hostas to grow so we can have a meal!

Here is a bit more information on eating hostas!

hosta-2346429_960_720.jpg photo:pixabay

Ostrich Ferns

When ostrich ferns emerge in spring the new growth appears curled up much like the top of a violin. These curls are often called fiddleheads. The fiddleheads of ostrich ferns are a popular delicacy in Eastern Canada (and elsewhere). Outside of the garden ostrich ferns can sometimes be found growing on banks and shores and in wet areas. Harvest them young because they quickly unfurl and lose their tenderness. Do not eat the fiddleheads of any other kind of fern without doing research on if it is edible and always cook your fiddleheads before eating!

fern-2332270_960_720.jpg image: pixabay

Chive blossoms

The lovely purple or while flowers that are produced by allums are quite edible. The blossoms of chives have a mild onion/garlic flavour and can be sprinkled on most anything. They make a wonderful infused vinegar and can also be battered and fried.

Here's a recipefor tempura chive flowers.

IMG_7032.jpg

Lilacs

A while ago I wrote about the wonderful culinary uses for spring lilacs. As they start to bloom and bud keep them in mind for salads, cocktails, vinegars and other wonderful kitchen creations.

Here's a list of beautiful and simple spring lilac recipes including: flavoured simple syrups, sugars and honey.

IMG_7209.jpg

Johnny-Jump-Up

This hardy annual pops up all over the place in early spring. It produces masses of small, brightly coloured flowers in lavender yellow and white. The petals have a mild wintergreen taste and look beautiful served on cakes, salads and cocktails. They also stand out when mixed into soft cheeses and biscuit recipes.

flower-2726952_960_720.jpgimage:pixabay

Yoghurt Cheese Recipe

Here is my easy recipe for yoghurt cheese. Our guests make special requests that we serve this one and It's the first things we run out of on our cheese platters. All of the flowers and plants listed in this post can be used to make this easy and delicious recipe!

IMG_6657.jpg

I hope I've inspired you to get out into the garden and explore the culinary potential of everything that you grow!

[@walkerland ]
Building a greener, more beautiful world one seed at a time.
Homesteading | Gardening | Frugal Living | Preserving Food| From Scratch Cooking|

You can also find me at: walkerland.ca | Facebook

Photo copyright: @walkerland (unless otherwise stated)

big_golden.png

LadiesOfSteemit-01.jpg

Sort:  

I had no idea ostrich ferns are a popular delicacy in eastern Canada...and I am curious about the cooked texture! As for the Lilac recipes...they intrigue and inspire me the most....especially Lilac honey. Thank you so much for sharing! <3

Also stopping by to say that you have been featured and curated for MSP Community Curation: Top Five 'Positive PAL Posts' - Week #18

https://steemit.com/community/@creativesoul/msp-community-curation-top-five-positive-pal-posts-week-18

POSITIVE-PAL-THUMBNAIL

Thank you @creativesoul, I appreciate the support. The fiddle heads when steamed/wilted remind me of spinach. We sauté them with a bit of butter, garlic and lemon juice. I'm glad you enjoyed reading the lilac recipes. I highly recommend giving it a try! Our lilacs have just started to bud - Exciting!!

I love your posts!!!!! Thanks for the beautiful images. The recipes too! I love eating and growing.... the violas. Johnny jump up...is one of the prettiest! But...they ALL ARE!!!! :)

I love eating and growing too! :) I adore your enthusiasm.

I had no idea hostas were edible! Still a little hesitant to try it;)

I'll have to provide an update once we eaten some. I am pretty excited but it will quite a few weeks before our hostas have developed enough to give it a try!

I love your posts about these things! We adore fiddleheads and it's getting close to time for them.

I used lily of the valley and lilacs from my garden for my wedding flowers when I got married on May 9th, my paternal grandmother's birthday. So each year we judge how well they are doing by that date.

The lilacs will get a big boost over the next 3 days with 80's for temps. So they might just make it this year. But overall things are much later than usual.

I'm wanting to make lilac jelly and I have made violet jelly for the last 2 years.

Lilac jelly is so delicious. Even my husband enjoys it. I grow lilly of the valley as well. It's such a phenomenal ground cover. No sign of it yet but it seems like things are in a race to catch up after such a late spring.

You have such lovely romantic stories to share. I just love it!

This is amazing, I didn't realize all of these flowers were edible. Imagine the beautiful salads you can create. Pretty exciting! Thanks for the information

ooh, the salads do look and taste beautiful. It's well worth the effort. :)

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Ago some time I saw a gastronomic tv show where they fried flowers, and I couldn't believe it. Now I see your post and is amazing for me to know that I can eat more flower than I thought 😅

Thanks for teach me something new.

Glad you enjoyed it! I hope you get a chance to try a few this summer. :)

This post has been resteemed from MSP3K courtesy of @creativesoul from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Really great post. I may end up eating the flower beds now. You can also eat the entire dandelion plant.

I love dandelion. I read that is was once a valued herb that early settlers brought over from Europe with them. I have no idea why people see it as a bad thing! We are planning to make some wine and I'll collect some roots as well soon! I can't wait for the ground to be showered in yellow!

We often eat the young fern fronds here in Thailand, stir fried with lots of garlic. Yum. Great post. Congrats on your MSP curation - following you from Northern Thailand. :)

Thanks @artemislives! That's how I like them too! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60345.08
ETH 2986.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81