Bloom 🌼 Bloom 🌻 Boom! 💥steemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening5 years ago
I've authored some posts lately about certain flowers that are blooming (Crabapple, Plum, Azalea, Wisteria), but that is only scratching the surface of the flowers that ae gracing me with their presence! Mother Nature is exploding around me now with so many flowers, I hardly have time to look at all of them! Here is a sampling, in no particular order.

Flower1.png

This is the (Camellia sasanqua) flower, which grows on a tree-like shrub a little taller than I am. There are two different colors on the shrubs here: red and white!

Flower2.png

Divider_PINK.png

Another flower on the property is a lanky, vine-like shrub which my father always called an ornamental, "Flowering Almond" ("ornamental" because it bears no fruit). However, doing a search on BING and Google for the plant yields very different images than the flowers on this shrub, so my father might have been mistaken about what it is.

So, if anyone can identify this plant, please let me know! The flowers are all white, with petals tightly bound together in an almost roseate shape, but searches for miniature roses didn't reveal anything quite like these. The blooms are small, hardly bigger than my thumbnail in size. They grow from pedicels along the vine, and not in a raceme. Whatever they are, they are pretty little things!

Flower3.png

Divider_PINK.png

I showed photos of my Wisteria vine recently, but here is another one on someone else's property, also in full bloom currently:

Flower4.png

Divider_PINK.png

The Dogwood (Cornus florida) trees are also blooming! There are only white flowers on my trees, but several neighbors have the pink variety and they are gorgeous!

Flower12.png

Divider_PINK.png

The Eastern Redbud trees (Cercis canadensis) are also beautiful now, with their lovely, delicate pink-and-fuchsia blooms. This photo is a closeup of the blooms on the tree in front of my house.

Flower11.png

Divider_PINK.png

Several dozen Periwinkle flowers are blooming, too. Most of the Periwinkles I have are Vinca major, but a few plants are Vinca minor. Both varieties form a lush ground cover which easily spreads on its own, producing a carpet of green leaves & stems, and dozens of delightful little flowers.

Flower10.png

Divider_PINK.png

The charming Lily of the Valley (Convallaria majalis) flowers are pretty and fragrant, but the plant is poisonous if ingested. So, look, but don't eat it!

Flower9.png

Divider_PINK.png

The Chokecherry (Prunus virginiana) trees are in bloom again. Not so pretty as the other flowering plants, but hey...

Flower8.png

Divider_PINK.png

I will end this post with a digital artwork which I created from one of my photographs several years ago. I never tire of looking at this artwork!

Dogwood.png

For a partial behind-the-scenes look at how this artwork was created from a rather crappy cellphone shot, see 👉 this post and, perhaps, you will be inspired at what can be done with those embarrassingly poor photographs that sometimes happen!

ThanksForReading--Pink.png 😊

curlydivider.png

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

PowerHouseCreativesbanner.jpg

__pearls.png
15-Apr-2019

Sort:  

That lily of the valley so nice and I have two great apps added to my phone for plants in the garden trying to let them stay alive through knowledge 😂 I don’t have green fingers hopefully now I can keep them
All summer ( the apps are in my blog from today )

You have some delightful spring beauties! The lily of the valley is such a fragrant piece of wonderful and was always my mothers very favorite. We would find them nestled in the woods, hiding from the sun.

The wisteria is amazing right at the moment and the color here in the DC area tend to be a bit darker purple than that of North and South Carolina. But, the same wonderful perfume!

You have posted such loveliness! Thank you!

!tip

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


563.png

oooo pretty. The Eastern rosebud is my favorite of the bunch. Periwinkle is also fun to say.
Manually curated by @eonwarped.

I love wisteria!!!! Spring and Summer is such a beautiful time of year. Sadly, my garden does not get a lot of sun so I REALLY struggle to get ANYTHING to flower!

I do love spring more than the summer!

Beautiful photos, and the subjects were outstanding! And the flowers up there sort of look like a tea tree flower, but my tea tree was an actual small tree, not a vine.

You have some nice flowers around your neighborhood.

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice composition :) Cheers :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by thekittygirl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63207.55
ETH 2571.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82