Seeding Cucurbits in Anticipation of Summer

in #gardening5 years ago

Today I seeded up two trays of Cucurbits! The Cucurbitaceae family includes squash, gourds, cucumbers and melons. I am starting them earlier this year and I am starting all of them in trays rather than direct seeding so that they can get an early start. I'll also be planting them out early.

Traditionally our last frost date is June 1st and some people say that there's been frost and snow further into June in rare occasions. But talking to some old timers and some wise farmers that I respect has taught me that our last frost date is moving up in the recent years and we can expect our last frost date to be mid May now.

So today is May 1st and I seeded up our squash. I will plant out in mid may or in the 2nd half of May. And I'll be motivated to get them in the ground because they grow super fast! I am sowing pretty thickly in these trays and I'll be thinning down to something like 3-6 plants per row, depending on how crowded they get! And squash grow fast so it will be fun to see how tightly I can space these seedlings in there!

Here is what I sowed:

Squash

  • Emerald Naked Seeded Pumpkin
  • Sibley
  • Pueblo Hubbard
  • Lower Salmon River
  • Red Kuri
  • Sweetmeat
  • Banana
  • Delicata
  • Straightneck
  • Round Zuccini
  • Butternut

Gourds

Watermelon

  • Petite Yellow
  • Sugar Baby

Achocha

I got Achocha at a seed swap not knowing what it was. The seeds were so intriguing looking like little pieces of coal. Turns out it is a south american cucumber like vegetable that is delicious cooked and often stuffed. It also has medicinal values. It will be fun to grow out!

Some of these seeds were swapped online, some bred by friends, some saved from farms we visited, some from squash we were gifted and others purchased.

I am interested in knowing what species each squash belongs to. The most common are Maxima, Pepo and Moschata. Squashes won't commonly cross outside of their own species. So if I want to save seeds of one type I can grow another type near it. That is also the nice thing about @papa-pepper's edible snake gourds, being in a totally different species than squash. And likewise with Achocha in a completely different genus. And it seems like I am barely scratching the surface of the cucurbits world. So its going to be fun!

cucurbits.jpg




coopbadgevendor.png

Website | @homesteaderscoop | Discord Community


natural-medicine-banner.jpg

#naturalmedicine | Introducing @naturalmedicine | Discord Community


image.png

#tribesteemup | @tribesteemup | The 8 Pillars of TribeSteemUp

Sort:  

Oh wow... that is a lot of different squash!!!

Unfortunately our last frost has moved forward too, I hear stories of people having lost a bit of their garden this year due to the cold still.

That climate change thing is messing with us! We're still using some heat and we had a thick amount of frost the other morning on our cars.

Well good luck with the cucurbits, sounds like they will be fun to learn about.

Yeah it seems like we can count on earlier planting dates than the longer historical trends. Thanks @senorcoconut!

Achocha...I had to look them up, because I had never heard of them. Interesting. I wonder if those would grow in Ireland too. Tempted to buy some seeds now. I have never been much of a squash grower, because I always think of it when it's too late in the year, but have some seeds this year. And quite happy to have found a melon that will grow here too!

Good gardening and I would love to see an update as they grow.!

Hey @misslasvegas :) I am not sure but it could be worth a try! What squash are you growing this year? I will definitely post updates on the squash and garden as the season continues :)

LOL, I don't actually know what kind of squash it is. I got some seeds from a friend, and would have to ask her, or just leave it as a surprise. :)

I'm so jealous!!! You must have so much garden space :-)
Happy gardening!!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks - hopefully we will find a permanent spot with this much garden space! Currently we are renting and lucky enough to have a lot of gardening space here!

Very lucky, enjoy your crops!

Posted using Partiko Android

Ooo like the look of those trays do they have a bottom? I've got a load of squash and cucs just sown so dodging the frosts is on the cards. Looking forward to seeing them grow 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes they do have a bottom! We built the flats last year. Here's a link with instructions if you're interested: https://steemit.com/homesteading/@sagescrub/how-to-wooden-flats-for-seed-propagation

Good luck with your squash and cucs!!

Thanks so much for digging that link out its a fab post, totally keeping that in mind for when i have some more spare wood! 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Infact I heard of cucurbits first time, and loved it will do further study in this, as it might help me growing few at home. I do gardening by sowing seasonal veggies...but never tried like this

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice! Squash are really easy to direct sow in the ground also - once weather is warm and there is no more chance of frost you can direct sow. Keep the ground moist and they are sure to come up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66631.72
ETH 3487.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71