Dividing and Transplanting Walking Onions

in #gardening5 years ago

onions2.jpg

I planted walking onion sets last spring by sowing them directly in some of our garden beds. Several of them grew into nice bunches and over wintered really well!

These onions did great in the snow. The greens died back a ways and now that the temperatures are warming up and the daylight is getting longer, the Walking Onions are sending up new greens!

onions3.jpg

I collected the onion sets in Washington from the 2017 season and brought them here to Oregon last year.

onions4.jpg

Now that I see how these onions grow and multiply I want to spread them out so they can multiply even more this year!! I am digging them out of a bed to make room for Idyllwild to transplant perennial flowers.

onions5.jpg

The bases have a nice shallot shape. They break apart very easily.

onions6.jpg

I divide all the onions into single stalks.

onions7.jpg

And I found a perfect home for the onions near by some kale that overwintered nicely. The kale is also starting to show signs of getting ready to send out spring growth!

onions8.jpg

I ended up with several green onions that separated from the roots and took them in to become acquainted with the kitchen.

I love that Walking Onions are perennials and come back every year! I love that they keep bunching and reproducing! From what I am observing they are going to provide abundant green onions and shallot like onions year after year! I mean look at all these onions I transplanted after the first year from just a few onion sets!

I munched on a few of these green onions as I was transplanting and loved the mild onion flavor. I am so excited about onions!

onions9.jpg




coopbadgevendor.png

Website | @homesteaderscoop | Discord Community


natural-medicine-banner.jpg

#naturalmedicine | Introducing @naturalmedicine | Discord Community


ghscollective_logo-01-1.png
#ghsc | Introducing @ghscollective | Discord Community


image.png

#tribesteemup | @tribesteemup | The 8 Pillars of TribeSteemUp

Sort:  

I love that plant, however there must be a disclaimer :)

If grown in a non-irrigated setup with a warm and not very rainy spring and a dry summer, the green leaves very quickly become too tough to be used in salads. I have this onion growing around the fruit trees in the orchard along with other herbs. I kinda hoped it would replace the need of planting onions in spring for green salads, but that hasn't really been the case. We can still use them for cooking, yes, they perform good there :)

ps: tagging @digitaldan here as well just in case he needs a bulb or two :)

I can SMELL the onions and dirt in this post!

Best onion recipe?

I just love them sliced on things - even just a simple salad of tomatoes, onion, pepper and basil.. .yum.

Ooo that could be a great addition to my urban homestead 🤞i can get them in the UK how do they taste in are they more like onions or shallots?

Posted using Partiko Android

Sounds like the kind of plant I like, I need to try find some here

Posted using Partiko iOS

WALKING onions! omg, I had these in a garden a decade ago, and forgot the word for them, and have looked for them ever since and not found them again. Walking! I love these onions. They're immortal. Now I have "walking" chives.

Awesome! Thanks for sharing! I have a place picked out on my homestead to plant those next year. Going to be fun! :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58728.31
ETH 3185.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43