You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: From Seed To Table - Tomato Harvest Time

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

I grew tons of beefmaster, they are heritage seeds along with 7 other varieties, lots of paste tomatoes too. I was never able to grow cantelope or watermelon up in the cascade foothills in Oregon, too cold in the evening. But pepper and tomatoes grew well if I started them early inside. We had frost until the end of May sometimes and could get frost depending on Indian summers from September to October before the really cold wet weather set in.

Yeah, my grandma saved her family from starving growing gardens and sewing for rich people during the depression. She still was growing gardens and sewing the day she died at 92 years old. these are hobbies that will keep the old body going! My chickens pooped a lot....one Rooster was called Mr. Poopalota lololol

Sort:  

My Mom's mother lived with us for about a year and she told me they used to go to the cemetery to pick dandelion greens and eat them with polenta. And we think we've got it bad.

Yes my Grandma told me the starving time stories, I've had a few myself so I truly appreciate growing my own food...the markets are rigged and I don't trust government/corporate food/energy/transportation grids because of my Grandma's stories and my history lessons...Mao cutting off his rebellious people's food grid and millions starved to death. That's why I always save fresh seeds and rotate them out every year, just in case, I also save potatoes for the spring...I am cra-cra-crazy lololol

We ate pigweed when I was a kid and my Mom ran out of money...;-)

Me too! I wound up with an acre of collard greens one year and not much else! And I hate polenta!

that's a lot!
you're very lucky!
here, we must grow them in a green house
otherwise they'd get sick of phytophthora always too wet here
well - more sun this year :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58009.23
ETH 3063.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34