You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: From Seed To Table - Tomato Harvest Time

in #gardening7 years ago

My Mom's mother lived with us for about a year and she told me they used to go to the cemetery to pick dandelion greens and eat them with polenta. And we think we've got it bad.

Sort:  

Yes my Grandma told me the starving time stories, I've had a few myself so I truly appreciate growing my own food...the markets are rigged and I don't trust government/corporate food/energy/transportation grids because of my Grandma's stories and my history lessons...Mao cutting off his rebellious people's food grid and millions starved to death. That's why I always save fresh seeds and rotate them out every year, just in case, I also save potatoes for the spring...I am cra-cra-crazy lololol

We ate pigweed when I was a kid and my Mom ran out of money...;-)

Me too! I wound up with an acre of collard greens one year and not much else! And I hate polenta!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57883.59
ETH 3070.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34