Sort:  

GG.jpeg

Thank you @geekgirl both for the badge and the nomination. I shall wear it with pride 🙂 This was a lovely surprise I wasn't expecting

Excelente post bro!
well deserved curie!!! :)
I grow some veggies in my roof top but is not so good, i have not so much space nor dirt...
Anyway, I did grew some small "cherry tomatoes" or at least that's how we call them in argentina :)

Thanks dude, I woke up to a lovely tomato related surprise with this post. wasn't expecting any curie but this is the first gardening post I have written so maybe that explains it lol. Yeah, cherry tomatoes are awesome, I grew some last year in hanging baskets and have seeds from those plants germinating at the moment. I'm hoping they will sprout soon as those plants were great with loads of small yellow tomatoes to compliment the red and tiger striped ones I had last year.

I did also in a "hanging garden" i used to pallets against the wall and about 15 gallon water bottles half open set sideways :)

This is really helpful, @raj808 and I've learned a few things about tomatoes. Now, I'm thinking of maybe growing some tomatoes. My youngest love tomatoes and it would be nice to just get them from the garden instead of buying them. Thanks for taking the time to put this together and post it.

That's great that the post has inspired you to grow some tomatoes for you and your family :-) I was hoping when I wrote this article that it may help a few people to get started

Great writng about gardening my friend... have a nice day...

Thanks @mnallica. Have a great one yourself :-)

Really great tutorials. I want to make a garden too, but my yard is not big enough. Maybe I’ll go verticultur. I guess tomato will be suitable for me.
I really like this. Thank you for sharing!

Hi @gibic. Yes you could go with a vertical garden and if you do, buy trailing bush tomatoes for hanging baskets and they will grow very well mate. Also salads can be done well in wall beds and also certain varieties of strawberries. thanks for your comment and checking out my blog :-)

Wow, awesome! Thanks for the pro tips!

That seems pretty easy... :) But I won't be growing them - not really suitable for an apartment on the 4th floor! Lol... Easy reading and simple to follow; at least you didn't complicate things!

Hi @ackhoo. You could go with a vertical garden and if you do, buy trailing bush tomatoes for hanging baskets and they will grow very well. They will even work on a balcony or a window sill. I couldn't do without my summer tomatoes. Thanks for your comment :-)

Hanging basketsfull of tomatoes...? Wow! That will be quite a sight... lol
Ok... that got me thinking...

Great post!! I love your wire trellis. we planted some tomatoes today too. 😁

I took a look at the article @hopfarmnc. Wow you are doing them on a larger scale than I am for sure. Good luck with the tomatoes and the farm in general 😁 thanks for your comment and checking out my blog :-)

What is the ambient temperature where you are @raj808?

I'm interested to do some urban farming myself here in Malaysia. I'd love to savor sweet ripe tomatoes straight from the vine!

I'm in the north of the UK so it never gets above 28 Celsius and that is in the heat of summer. It's been in the low 30's once or twice but very rarely. This is why the greenhouse is essential here as the temp in the greenhouse is now in the high 20's even though outside it is 16-17c when it's sunny. I would think that in Malaysia just go for a hardy variety that do well in a hot climate and grow outside. I'm guessing the biggest problem in a tropical climate like your's would be rain and humidity.

From my brief research I've just done, the biggest problem is the humidity. Apparently Cherry tomatoes grow best in hot climate and if you are growing in the ground I would suggest adding some soil conditioning materials to the soil in the area where you're growing the tomatoes. This is to help drainage, also grow them in winter well before the rainy/monsoon season. In fact you should plan for them to be giving you the last fruit just before monsoon hits as from what I have read the biggest problems come from the high humidity in monsoon season. Pick a spot in full sunlight and good luck. Here are some web pages that should help in thinking about growing tomatoes in the tropics. I hope this is of help :-)

https://www.thespruce.com/tips-for-growing-tomatoes-in-hot-climates-848268

https://www.baliadvertiser.biz/tomatoes/

The information is very helpful. Thanks @raj808!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55425.80
ETH 2363.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34