SIGNS OF LIFE - PROGRESS IN THE NEW GARDEN

in #gardening6 years ago

This was exciting to come home to!

Since we are trying to build up the "soil" here and do things to improve the medium that our food will be grown in, finding something like this is a great sign! It looked like a big fat one too, which means a lot of worm castings!

CHECK OUT MY NEW LITTLE FRIEND!

EARTHWORMS AND NIGHTCRAWLERS - AN IMPORTANT COMPONENT IN HEALTHY SOIL

Many people are familiar with the role that worms and nightcrawlers play in the environment. While you can have "good" or "healthy" soil without their presence, I like to see them and they certainly can indicate a few things. Besides the "castings" (manure) that they create, larger ones like this nightcrawler can make impressive burrows with can aerate the soil and allow water to penetrate deeper as well! Hopefully, many more will choose to call our garden home in the future.

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-nightcrawler

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Worms, yes a big one and ready to keep digging.
What a job.
I guess they do not complain to do it.

I get excited when I see worms in my garden, too! :-D Signs of life and health like you said!

At home this time of year is probably my favourite it’s when my garden starts to come to life again. Cheers mike

@papa-pepper Incredible here in the farm also appear worms longer than those, even get them to show in an article, on the other hand we also have a bank of worms that provides us with solid and liquid humus for plants planted
Regards Venezuela. STEEM ON !.


Magnificent earthworm!

Cool! A whole bank of worms? Sounds excellent!

if you let me see if I get pictures of them ... and I'll give them to you

wow this worm is very big, in our place also very much worm, but now i can not show you, because now at our place is at 21:46.
we always use a worm for fishing @papa-pepper, it's so much fun.

Hopefully, many more will choose to call our garden home in the future.

I should think your animal friends will soon triple as you seem to be very friendly with them, and your garden becoming an abode for them @papa-pepper. This worm looks bigger than what I have seen in real life.

Today we planted two trees in our garden, and while digging the wholes, I occasionally cut the worm in two pieces with my shovel.

The thing both parts of that single worm seemed to be alive after that. So the question is what happened with that worm. Did I kill it or divided it and so gave single life to a second part of that worm?

How many worms should be finally alive after such division?
0, 1 or 2?

Worms can continue living after that, so hopefully you've just multiplied them. If you did kill them, then it is just more fertilizer!

Thanks a lot @papa-pepper you just took a big stone out of my soul.

Wooh great @papa-pepper finally i meet you have been hearing a lot of good things about you sir how you have been father to all in this platform just sign up on steemit i cant wait to see more of you sir. Happy to see your first post as a steemian

wow... earthworms :)

Wow..... Earthworm,i can't remember the last I saw these. That was when I was a kid and then my dad used to have a garden and when we go play there, we dig up earthworms. Nice seeing these little creatures again and there are really beautiful and harmless, it's been ages since last I saw one. There really play great role in one's farm and in the soil. Great post and photography @papa-pepper.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60189.57
ETH 3204.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44