PLANTING JERUSALEM ARTICHOKES

in #gardening6 years ago

Finally, we've got some of these planted!


I've been meaning to get some of these for years now. Once you get them started, they go and go and go and provide you with tons of food for years to come. I've got some more to get in later, but we planted our first Jerusalem Artichokes ever this morning!

IF YOU PLANT THEM, THEY WILL GROW

The Jerusalem Artichoke is also known as the Sunchoke, and comes in a few varieties. This incredible member of the Sunflower family is a hardy perennial with loads of edible tubers. The tubers multiply like crazy too, which makes them a very productive garden plant.

This beautiful plant can grow up to ten feet high, and likes full sun. It also spreads from seed, so some people like to cut the flowers off to prevent it from becoming invasive. I've enjoyed eating it before and had wanted to grow our own for years, so I'm glad that we've finally got some planted. Now we just got to wait for them to grow.

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-sunchokes

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Goats will eat anything. What I would really like to know is, will chickens eat it?

I'll have to check. They take care of a lot of scraps and garden waste for us. We'll see!

A word of caution Papa, don't eat too many of those sunchokes at the first go, unless you are entering a flatulence contest. Sunchokes are nicknamed fartichokes for good reason. They contain inulin a type of sugar that cannot be digested by humans. So it passes directly through the small intestine into the large intestine, where microbes feed on the inulin and inturn convert it into gas. So go easy on the fartichokes at first until your body builds up a tolerance to inulin.


Beavis, did he just say fartichoke hah-huh hah-uh? Fartichokes rule! Let her rip yah, yah, uh, yah!

You're welcome and thanks for the upvote, keep the great content flowing as always! On a sidenote, I planted some sunchokes for the first time this year too and am experimenting with using them as a living trellis for my pole beans, maybe I'll make a post about it later in the season if it works out well.

I've heard that can work well and was considering doing the same! How cool!! I guess we will have to keep each other posted.

Papa's post made me remember a night about a year ago where I learned all about inulin and sunchokes.

https://steemit.com/food/@gikitiki/a-very-strange-night-and-the-health-benefits-of-sunchokes

Yes, they can turn into the garden herpes. Come back on a cycle and refuse to be eradicated if the need arises. Good to eat so not a big problem, until they get loose and start to take over and area they shouldn't be....

I've honestly never heard it put that way.

The term is very suitable for many invasive plants, even if planted on purpose. Another one I just called herpes is the Chocolate Mint that I can't get rid of since a tiny little piece of it will grow more, and more, and more. And since @stryeyz is allergic to mint, I don't get an opportunity to use it for anything.

I've never really had any of these, I'd like to try some. Don't think they'd grow in my part of the world.

Excellent. Food, food, food. The JA is basically a weed that provides food from what I've heard/read. Gonna have to get some of them into the ground out there as well. Upped and Resteemed.

Jerusalem Artichokes, there are still so many plants I haven't heard or learnt about. Well, I always keep check to see as it grows.
With papa-pepper, farming is made easy

well great Job, you always look enthusiastic about farming which is a joy to watch. Do you know that One large artichoke contains only 25 calories, no fat, 170 milligrams of potassium, and is a good source of vitamin C, folate, magnesium and dietary fiber. Lovely article!!!

Good source of Iron too! Thanks!

JERUSALEM ARTICHOKES, to be honest I have never heard or seen this plant before not to talk of eating it. I have simply learnt something new today and it's Jerusalem artichokes, wanted browsing about it, but after reading your post to the end, it was really self explanatory so I think all the information I had wanted about it, you have explained in details.

Please @papa-pepper do update us as the Jerusalem artichokes progresses in growth. Thanks for teaching me something new today, good luck as the Jerusalem artichokes grows and thank you so much for stopping by my blog, I appreciate.

Sunchokes are a great calorie crop.

I've heard people say they aren't as good as sunflowers, but I think they look great in full bloom.

Hope you like them! Once you've planted them, you can't get rid of them. ;D

So I hear! Thanks man!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64302.59
ETH 2654.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83