NO FROST YET - SO THE PEPPER HARVEST IS STILL COMING IN

in #gardening6 years ago

Thankfully, we've managed to stay above freezing so far.


One of the things that I always dreaded (besides my hair) was the first frost of fall. For gardeners, frost can be deadly, at least for your plants. The spring frosts can kill all of your seedlings overnight if you are not careful, but fall frosts are harder to deal with for me.

SO FAR, SO GOOD

When a frost comes late in the spring, it will kill the tiny plants in your garden if you don't protect them. Those small plants though often have less effort invested in them that the mature plants you've got in you garden at the end of the season. For me, being such a pepper fan, a lot of my favorites plants will keep producing and producing until they die, usually due to freezing temperatures.

The photo above is one branch of one of our Carolina Reaper plants. All of those red peppers would have never matured if the temperatures would have gotten a little colder in the past weeks. On some nights, the temperature dips down into the thirties, and thirty two degrees is freezing. Frost can happen at higher temps than freezing though, so we've been blessed thus far.

The Ghost Peppers are coming in hard too! This is a harvest from one day of picking my seventeen plants. It was actually a struggle for my boy to lift the box for the photos because it was so heavy. They will be lighter once we dehydrate them, but it is still an impressive quantity. If the temperatures stay high enough, we may have a few more harvests just like this, since there are plenty of green peppers still on the plants.

How is your garden doing? Is it done for the year yet or still holding on?

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-great-harvests-still-coming-in

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


Bitcoin (BTC) - 35jP794XJ1yHUaoxuQUXwGPyCuy6zyiQA5

FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Join The @ghscollective On Discord: https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

Nice, Mate.......very nice....:)...

And spicy too! Thanks!

Those peppers looks awesome bro , I would love to make some salsa or grill them either way I'm sure you have done it all. Be well brother

Posted using Partiko Android

There sure are a lot of ways to enjoy them! Thanks man!

Also, if you want some, I can ship you some.

Bro, oh man that would actually be super cool, dont go out of your way or anything, but to have some papa peppers would be legit. your in Arkansas right? thats my home state, born and raised in Hope.

I still have dried ones this year, but ran out of the fresh ones now.... If you would like to try some, or get some seeds to try to grow your own next year, let me know. Are you on discord?

Cool bro yea I'm on discord , same name just looks weird. @Kꋪꍏꁴꌩᖘꂦꍟ꓄#2097 yea they should grow here , it's a dry climate tho.

Posted using Partiko Android

Those peppers make me hiccup just looking at them! What are you planning to do with them all?

Posted using Partiko Android

Beautiful bounty... So what do you do with them when you have more than you can consume? Freeze, can, or dehydrate them?

Can in salsas and dehydrate.

Papa-pepper, more like King-pepper. That's a heck of a harvest, man! You'll be enjoying those for a long time. I hope you keep your warmer temps so you can continue harvesting.

My garden is done for the year. Everything has either been harvested or died. That's alright, the strawberries multiplied a lot this year, so I'll have plenty for next year. :)

Frost finally hit our garden this week right on schedule. Everything except the raspberries died, including the basil which I had neglected to bring in on time. Oh well. We had actually harvested pretty much everything and were already removing the plants since there was nothing much left out there that had any chance of maturing before the freeze.

Wow, you've got a lot of peppers there, congratulations on a nice crop. :D
I hope your weather holds out until you get all your crops gathered in for the year. :D
You're lucky your still above freezing there, we've been fluctuating between -4 C and 3 C for the past few days and now we also have that white stuff I don't like. Its been falling since first thing this morning and we've got an accumulation of a few inches now, yuck, LOL. :D
I know loads of people enjoy snow, I just don't happen to be one of them. :D
God bless you and your wonderful family. :D Have an awesome day my fabulous friend! :D

Dam that enough heat to last a winter.

redpeppers.jpg

My little garden is doing alright. I have been neglecting it a tad just have not made time for it. This is from 2 weeks back. Will be my 4th harvest for the year from this red pepper plant. This was my first year I hope next year things won’t be so odd. I gave up at one point and just shoved that metal pole in the middle to try and help lol. Not quite sure how long I'll keep growing down here.

My tomato plant already gave up for the year weeks ago. It gave me 2 very tinny little sad looking tomatoes.

This kind of Fall weather might even be better then that summer heat. I just got be careful during the winter when there is frost or a the very rare freeze warning for a couple hours in the night.

I really have no idea. I rather try and see what happens first then go and look things up. There will always be next year for improving.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.66
ETH 3148.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84