MY PRECIOUS SEEDLINGS

in #gardening6 years ago

Leaving home can be hard, but especially when you've got "little ones" counting on you.


Thankfully, the "little ones" were just some garden seedlings that I had sprouted, but still. To leave them unattended for four or five days can be deadly for them, and I'd rather not lose these little plants.

WOULD THEY MAKE IT?

When I recently took a trip up to Wisconsin I had a few things to worry about while I was gone. The main concern was our animals, so I had a number of neighbors looking after our ducks, chickens, guinea fowl, cow, rabbits, sheep, goats and bottle babies . When it came to my seedlings though, I just took care of them one final time before leaving and hoped for the best.

I've gotten a late start to starting seedlings this year, and I've still got a long way to go. With the desire to provide most of our own food from our own property, it'll take a lot of plants. This is not only a financial goal of being more self-sufficient but also a health goal. For some of us, it is just hard to trust what is on the shelves of the grocery or superstores these days.

Thankfully, it doesn't look like we lost any seedlings during our trip. I was very relieved to see that! Even the small investment of time and effort that I had put into these plants prior to our trip would have been more than I would want to waste. Plus, we are eagerly looking forward to watching these grow this year and eventually tasting the fruit of our labor.

Just so you can hear about a few of the kinds of plants we are growing, I'll share a bit about them. First off, we are excited to be growing some seeds from other steemians this year, like Tobacco from @shalomacres, Egyptian Spinach from @mericanhomestead, and some Luffa Gourds from @em3! Actually, we've got more seeds from steemians than that, but we've still got some planting to do.

At the moment, some of our sprouts are Ghost Peppers, Trinidad Scorpion Peppers, Yarrow, Catnip, Chinese Red Noodle Beans, Korean Goji Berries, Tamarillos, Kiwanos, Germans Chamomile and others. Obviously, we are working on a variety of annuals and perennials, and also on a variety of herbs and vegetables. We've sure got a lot of work to do in the future, but we are excited! Also, we are very glad that the seedlings took care of themselves during our absence.

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-seedlings

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Great post man, but what are kiwanos? never heard of those before

Thats cool bro. Its a healthy practice to grow our own food since theres a lot of pesticide in the market's vege. We are literally poisoning ourselves - killing ourselves softly, LOL

Very cool! Must be very gratifying to return and they're all in good shape. I worry just about being away from my tomatoes for 9 hours while I'm at work! But they are all fine and accounted for. ;) I still have them indoors I live in USDA zone 7-b, so early spring can be a little grey and wet for them.

Sounds like you are on track to gain an even more decentralized living status. I wish you much success in all your self-sustainability efforts!

That thought came to me, that was why I asked if you were still in Wisconsin. I wondered who will attend to the animals, but i felt you must have done proper arrangement for them. I knew you won't leave them hanging. Glad to see the seedlings survive and fighting. Papa himself is a fighter, they have to be. Just like the lemon i planted, i was surprised to see it still thriving when i checked, after leaving that place for a long time.
Well done Papa.

Yo @papa-pepper, have you got your seedlings under grow lights? that must cost a small packet to run if you do.
I am just trying to clear some of the land behind our house to start our butterfly garden but like you it is a slow start. and there is a couple of reason why,

  1. we have just moved into our new house and didn't know the land on the back was ours.
  2. the weather has been that cold this year.
    Even at my other house with our 18x18 garden I would have had things growing by now.
    Looks like I'm going to have to buy already grown plants this year to catch up which is not what I wanted to do.

Normally I would have gone to a neighbours house or a friend and got some cuttings and planted them my self, I like it this way as I am not getting the commercial crap you find in supermarkets.

Anyway, Glad that your seedlings made it while you have been away. I hope they flurish and bring you guys loads to eat when they are ready.

Hopefully they grow into strong plants :)

Happy to see that the seedlings didn't suffer while you were gone. You have some very interesting seeds, @papa-pepper. I am really interested in Chinese Red Noodle Beans and Korean Goji Berries. I have been on the hunt for the seeds. Hopefully, I will come across some really soon. The rainy season is almost here and that means planting time for our second crops.

Hey are these from those seeds you showed a few weeks back, the seeds that had some beatles in them, corn I think? Or different all together? If different how did those seeds turn out? :)

These are different. Those are elsewhere. I will have to check on them. Last I knew, most went to chicken feed but some were planted.

Quite an exotic range of plants and seeds you are working on. Glad to see that your seedlings made it through... it will be interesting to see them grow and bear fruit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63744.49
ETH 2639.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77