EASY GARDENING - POTENTIAL OPPORTUNITIES FOR FREE FOOD

in #gardening6 years ago

I just have a hard time killing seedlings!


When free seedlings show up, I like to give them an opportunity. Volunteers are great and save a lot of time and effort in planting and caring for, so when I see a volunteer garden plant sprout up somewhere, I like to transplant them to garden or work them into the landscape. Today was one such opportunity.

HEY THERE LITTLE GUYS!

It's been raining a lot, so we haven't turned our compost pile as we should. Since it has been sitting still, it has given the opportunity to some of the seeds in there to spout. This morning, there were three healthy seedlings popping out of the compost pile. If I turned it now, they would just die and be added to the compost, but I thought perhaps it would be better to try to transplant them.

The seedlings lift out of the compost easily enough, and that allows me to keep the root system intact, within the compost that I lifted. I'm not even sure who these plants are, but they are growing like a cucumber, squash, or pumpkin would. Based on our recent diet, I'm guessing that they are "Patty Pan Squash" seedlings. We were able to eat quite a few of them while watching the garden of @bluerthangreen & @allforthegood.

Here is the first one planted in its new home, an open area in our garden. I think that these can produce in less than two months (if my guess is correct), but even if they are not what I think they are, we still might get some free food out of this one. Since a lot of this lifestyle is new to us, things like this are really encouraging to see and to be a part of. I'll let you know if anything ever comes out of these! Steem on!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-more-potential-for-free-food

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Join The @ghscollective On Discord: https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

20180819_125255.jpg

This big punkin plant was a volunteer. Some popped up in my garden and I let one grow.

Excellent! Good decision!

Yay little squash plant! #foodisfree here's a plant that sprouted up when my20180819_110404.jpg sister watered with compost tea. A little seed slipped in!! Now a pepper is growing! Ha Ha Ha!! It's awesome 😁Good job on your new lifestyle Pepper Family! It's super encouraging to follow your blog posts 🌱💚💜💚💜

Wow! Very cool!

Haha! Looks like a squash seed also planted itself in the spider plant! Good growing 💚😂💚

Oh wow! I see that now too! Very cool! Great unintentional garden!

We sometimes find free potato or squash in our compost as well. One year we even had borage which can be used in salads and teas.

I heard of people letting sweet potatoes grow on their compost pill.

My school has started growing fruits and veggies to put in our salad!

Cool! I love borage!

Yay! I LOVE all volunteers, plants and people😆I recently found two volunteer baby mango trees growing in my compost heap!❤️💛💚 Great post @papa-pepper, thank you 🤗

36AFF96A-1E38-4713-9B91-A4CB56CA3D29.jpeg

I've actually had the same thing happen with baby mangos, but they did not really make it due to my climate. An avocado did the same thing too!

I love my volunteer plants. Sometimes my compost doesn't get stirred right away and I get all kinds of little guys growing. These turn out to be hardier than the seeds I plant in the beds. And sometimes the birds drop different seeds in there too.

Oh yes, birds do a lot of unintended planting!

Yes, there are many advantages of planting plants, one will eat us and simultaneously pollution will be reduced. I would like to thank you very much for this nature that you are doing very well.

Good content i think you are good blog maker for a his why you are established

Posted using Partiko Android

I hope those little guys will continue to grow and get you some food!

I hope those little
Guys will continue to grow
And get you some food!

                 - caidenskelton


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Waste not want not. As they say.

I love the concept and the effort. Let's hope the harvest turns out great

I love the concept
And the effort. Let's hope the
Harvest turns out great

                 - empress-eremmy


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63178.17
ETH 2581.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71