A CHE TREE? - You're Growing What Papa?

in #gardening7 years ago

Part of the goal is self-sufficiency and growing our own food supply.


Since we are attempting this in our current day and age, the variety of plants available to us from all around the world is exponentially increased from just a century or two ago. For this reason, we are willing to try growing just about anything that we can eat that will grow in our growing zone. I was sharing some of this with @humanearl last night.

It amazes me that so many wonderful varieties of plants from all over the world can now be shared and transported into other areas that have similar climates. Since that is the case, you'll see all sorts of interesting things at our homestead as time goes on. Today, I bring you the Che Tree.

This variety is a self-fruitful female, so it is seedless. Normally a female would need to be pollinated by a male plant in order to bear fruit. When pollination occurs though, the fruit will have seeds in it, which, I've heard can be unpleasant.

If you notice from the tag in the photo above, I ordered it from Edible Landscaping last year. I had heard of this plant, but did not know where to purchase one until I came across this video of YouTube.

Interestingly enough, the tree featured in this video may be the parent tree from which my little ones were propagated.

If you saw on the tag in the photo above, mine are grafted onto Osage Orange root stock. The fruit of the Che Tree actually look like little red Osage Oranges, and they are in the same family so they can be grafted together. Here are two photos I just took of my Che and some wild Osage Oranges.

OSAGE ORANGE


CHE


The final size of these two will also be different, and the Che is more bite-sized and the Osage Orange can get bigger than a softball. Also, people do not eat Osage Oranges, although I heard that you can make a form of "lemonade" from them. Perhaps I'll try it later this year.

Personally, I was amazed to see these little trees fruit already. I am so excited to see how they look when they are ripe and to finally taste one. I might do an update along the way, but I will definitely let you know when the ripe fruit are in!

It seems that the Che Tree is originally from Asia. Has anyone ever tried these? Have you encountered the seedless variety featured in the video above?

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-che



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

You must spend a lot of time fi ding strange things instead of the same as everybody else in the area grows. Little-peppers are getting a wide or even very wide education for the future. Well done Papa-Pepper.

We grow the "normal" stuff too.

I cant wait to see how the fruits come out. I am waiting for some warmer weather to plant some of the seeds you sent me last year. I did start a couple of avacado trees from seed.
https://steemit.com/gardening/@matthewtiii/growing-an-avacado-from-seed
I will be starting the pepper seeds I saved from the #hotpepperchallenge pretty soon as well. Love and peace.

Alright!! Good to hear from you again... I've missed you man!

I am glad to be back. Great to see your posts again.

Che Tree or VIVA revolution Tree

Beautiful nature.
I like it @papa-pepper

Thank you! It is amazing!

Great clicks and very informative post thanks dear.

You're welcome!

Great article and excellent proposition to be autonomous in that context. Nowadays gardening, planting and also the related food culture don't have limits anymore. That's surely one of the positive effects of globalization.
Following you

Che "Guevara" Tree

That had crossed my mind!

I see your calluses on my hands, you work very hard! @papa-pepper

Very hard all the time, and it shows. Thanks for noticing!

I have never even heard of, or seen a Che tree, good luck with your project, I hope it is fruitful!!

Thank you, hopefully it will!

Che Tree dasunt grow well in my country :)

That's too bad.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29