Vegetables I Grow #001: The "Iskush" or Squash, A Vegetable and a Fruit.

in #gardening8 years ago

One of the most common vegetables where I live, this fruit can be found growing almost everywhere in our hills!

We eat it roasted, toasted and boiled while whole, or chopped into chunks and cooked with potato or radish, to make a curry. Not only the fruits, the new stems and flowers from trimmings are also consumed, but the real treat are the roots of this plant, which is dug around Jan/Feb and considered a delicacy around these parts.

The shoots of this vine/creeper grow fast and go all over the place, and can smother other plants and veggies if unchecked. I have a plant which has almost overtaken a pine tree in a shady part. I noticed a few fruits and a lot of flowers and clicked the following shots.


All photos have been touched-up, scaled in size and taken with my mobile camera,
Samsung Galaxy S6 edge



New fruits, from a new season!



A close up of the fruit. Notice the small flowers next to it.



The vine going up the tree! Notice the large leaves.



Another shot of the fruits.



You can right-click and open image in a new tab for a larger format.
All photos are free to use without attribution or copyrights.
(Though you may give me credit, if you wish!)



If you like my work, please up-vote and read more at @norbu.
You may also click the down-arrow next to my name (before my reputation score below) to follow me.
Or you may just re-steem to share the love! 😊


Sort:  

We call these a Choko. I Guess because the vine will cover and choke all the plants around it. Or it could be if you eat it you'll choke. 😂

Haha maybe that's why they call it that! Thanks.

beautiful photographs, congratulations on finding thank you very much for sharing this beautiful post

Thank you.

Great pictures!

Thank you.

@norbu That's chayote I love them as they're pretty delicious - lucky you for having your own - here it costs 3 euro a piece

Different continent, different names, but dang at those prices, we would be millionaires!:))

One of your posts was featured by the gardening-trail team this week. This one is great too, but we want to give others a chance to have their posts curated. Keep up the good work! Upvoted! I know together we'll build a strong gardening community on Steemit. I love chayote and would eat it all the time when I lived in Mexico.

I appreciate your work and am happy one of my post was selected. I do not expect to get featured again and am happy you are encouraging a lot of others. I enjoy what I do and am happy that you like it! Thanks again.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64008.01
ETH 3308.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93