Hyacinths - They make gardening easy

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)

Hyacinths

Hyacinths make gardening easy because they come up year after year and they produce a beautiful flower. People comment on them all of the time and think that I have a green thumb. But not so. I planted these last fall and that was it. Mother nature does the rest . This month they just popped out of the ground like magic.

I planted the Hyacinths just in front of a row of daffodils. See my post on daffodils.

The hyacinth flowers are getting to the end of their life cycle and will soon be gone. But keep the leaves growing so the bulb builds up nourishment for next years flowers. I wait until the leaves also die back and then cut them off. And then I plant some annual flowers like snapdragons and salvias to fill the space for the summer.

Another bonus is that the hyacinths and daffodils are virtually deer proof which is important where I am. And so are the snapdragons and blue salvias.

Enjoy the beauty of nature. Happy gardening.

Sort:  

i love their smell, they lure the bees :)

Yes. The smell and the bees. I was dead-heading the daffodils in that same bed and a bee kept buzzing me but didn't attack. I think it was protecting the flowers that was still in bloom and finally realized that I was only taking the dead flowers. Nature knows best.

I'm a bit of a green thumb myself :)
Love gardening, there is something about the whole process of planting the seeds or seedlings and nurturing them and watching them grow.

I'm going to get some of these if they will thrive in out extreme summer times.

Yeah, gardening is like taking part in the creation process. You plant something and then a new life sprouts. And nature takes over.

Re: Hyacinths and daffodils - they need a certain amount of winter, of coldness, in order to grow well. I'm not sure if Australia has that but good luck.

Our winter gets quite cold, but then summer time it gets real hot so we go from a couple of degrees C in winter to 35 - 47 C in summer

It might be OK. Perhaps ask a garden center and also see if they have the daffodil bulbs for sale.

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Congratulations @mgood! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60157.20
ETH 2416.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43