Scotch Bonnet Chillis - Indoor Sowing and Growing Part 1

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

A guide to Growing Scotch Bonnets in the Bitter Cold North

I love chillis, cooking with them, grinding them, fermenting them. Everything just about bar sleeping with them. But here in the frozen north (Scotland) they ain't always available in the shop's. When they are, bizarrely they often are just not hot enough. So I grow my own!

Just now is a perfect time to get sowing as this means you can enjoy chilli fruit joy from spring onwards throughout the year.

First up, getting your seeds

Well this is easy. The best way to get seeds is to use the seeds from one you are going to eat! For ages I assumed you had to buy seeds from eBay and the like and don't get me wrong you can but heck why waste the money!

So get your scotch bonnet and chop the top off like so

Now scrape the seeds out

Next up, planting those blighters

You will need some pots and some compost. Little pots about five inches high like below will do (my good lady says these pots are only three and a half inches high but that can't be right?

You can use any old compost but a handy hint whatever you use is to microwave the compost for a couple of minutes. I used to get compost from a well known DIY store. My house was plagued by little black flies. Eventually I traced them back to the pots that my plants were growing in. A bit of online research later found that often compost from such places has little black fly larvae or eggs in it and a quick microwaving kills em off!

After the microwaving, fill your pots almost to the top and add your seeds, four or five to a pot. We will thin them when they sprout.

Cover with a thin layer of soil, water them till moist but not soaking and then pop in some "sealy" bags. Sandwich ones are ideal. This keeps the moisture in like a little greenhouse

Finally find a nice windowsill that gets as much light as you can get and keep there. Because the bag is sealed you shouldn't have to water it.

I will report back in a week or two when the first seedlings appear. And appear they will as this method has worked every time before. It might be that they are easy to grow!

Of course if you don't have some kind of warmth or heating in your house this might not work!

Sort:  

Look at you grow....lol...fancy . I hope these bear fruit for you.

Oh they will, hot hot crazy fruit!! :0)

now last year I managed to kill all the fruit and veg I tried to grow long before harvest time, this looks like it may just be a phoenixmaid proof system.

For germinating them it sure is, plenty of scope for killing them off after that ;0)

oh dear that's not so good, but I'll do my best and hope that I don't get nicked for planticide anytime soon.

I will keep you right! There will be healthy plants festooned everywhere! ;0)

That's seriously awesome! How did you come up with this!? That's incredibly intelligent and I'm almost wanting to try it! I'll be looking in a few weeks to see How they're doing. Thanks for the information!

Thank you, it took many attempts over a few years before I managed to get it right!

@meesterboom love it!
Thanks for the idea of using the zip-bags, now I can grow stuff without worrying about the damp, too!
Glad I checked your post out before rest my Voting influence a while again

I am glad too! Thank you!! The zip bags are excellent and save hunners of faff!!

Great idea with the sandwich bags!

Cheers, It makes it all really easy if you do have to add a bit of water or check on them!!

Where theres a will theres a way! well done

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84