A Feminist Gamer’s Guide to Gardening: Weeding your Mentions

in #gardening8 years ago

One thread that links nearly every Feminist I know is anxiety. If you’ve posted something that may ruffle men’s feathers online, just checking your email or social media can be harrowing. You say to yourself it’s not a big deal, and roll your eyes at the latest essay in your comments section. But some days every chime of your smartphone can feel like doom.

Ding ding! You steel yourself for comments like, “I hope you get raped” and “Just another SJW bitch cunt.”

Being a woman on the internet is… weird. Some days it’s fine. Others are not. Other days your inbox gets flooded with boys from 4Chan trying to scare you into shutting down your Youtube channel. It’s an exhausting, frustrating, sometimes scary thing to simply have a web presence, combined with the futile rage about how it really shouldn’t be. This anxiety and frustration is understandable, but I’ve found that it’s easy to lose perspective.

Outside my immediate circle of internet colleagues, few people have ever heard the names Anita Sarkeesian, Zoe Quinn, or have any idea what “Gamergate” was. As I twisted myself up inside about assholes online and their ignorance the world continued the turn outside my window.

As a lifelong gamer I haven’t spent much time outside. This is news to no one who knows me. I hate the Sun, humidity, bugs, and the bizarre ritual known as “camping”. I hate it all. A perfect day for me is rainy. Snuggling up on the couch with a cup of tea and video game? That’s my jam, that’s how I relax. Or at least it was.

I’ve needed more and more time to relax as I dug deeper into my own internet subculture. Once Sarkeesian finally gave us the language to talk about gaming lagging behind the rest of culture, we lifted a rock that had not seen the light of day in decades. And what we found was not pretty.

Because getting fanboys screaming at you is irritating, sometimes amusing. But when the threats start to come… that’s when it changes the way you see the world. If someone can make you afraid, they take control of you in a way. And it’s when someone is backed into a corner that they make a decision: fight or flight? Stay and argue with chumps into infinity, or shut down your social media and leave the debate? And above all, how do you cope with the toxicity of it all?

It may surprise you that I found my answer in my own backyard. After a few particularly rotten days in Social Media Land (I dared to challenge a video game critic) I looked out into my backyard: weeds. Everywhere. I know next to nothing about gardening and even I could tell my yard was a dumpster fire. So I went of there and started weeding and I haven’t stopped.

If you’ve never weeded while pissed off I highly recommend it. When men yell at me online I’m acutely aware that a lifetime worth of patriarchal upbringing and toxic masculinity brought him to that place. He is what he is and anything I say to him will only scratch the surface. But a weed? I can pull that sucker up by the root. Additionally I’m actually making a positive difference, I’m getting more vitamin D than ever and my yard looks… less like a dumpster fire.

But the real benefit I’ve experienced was my stress and anxiety evaporated. The randos continued to whine but I suddenly gave less of a shit. Being more present in my real life immediately shrank the influence they had over me. They finally feel as insignificant as they actually are.

So I find myself a self proclaimed “sun hating” gamer whose obsessed with gardening. I think my friends are worried. But really it’s a lot like a game. Every plant has different abilities, and stats, that only grow at certain times of year. It’s like LARPing Harvest Moon and yes, I realize how lame that sounds. I don’t care, I feel calmer and more grounded than I have in years. If it’s at all possible, start a garden, and yank those randos right our of your mentions.

Sort:  

When men yell at me online I’m acutely aware that a lifetime worth of patriarchal upbringing and toxic masculinity brought him to that place.

You are so sexist

I went to sleep in tears last night for the rage that this post gave me

Did you know there are girls in india held in bourdels and used as sex slaves? Did you know there are complete towns of christians being wiped out and their inhabitants crucified alive? Did you know 9 YO girls are being forced into marriages to older men that rape her sistematically?

Oh, but you want to raise awareness on gamergate. I bet if you could you would knock on that little girl's home and implant the awareness chip inside her head, because gamergate and Anita whatever are more important

Do you know we are a part of the demographics who have one of the easiest existenses in the history of humankind?

You have it all, yet you complain. You will not aknowledge this until you lose it, and believe me, you will

That, I'm afraid, is what we call a fallacy of relative privation. It's an appeal to worse problems, often used as "There are children starving in Africa!" fallacy and it just doesn't hold any weight in a real argument.

I'm sorry this post upset you so much, you seem very offended. I think if you research relative privation it may help you feel better and perhaps have a less traumatic response in the future. Good luck!

You being "afraid" that is what we call a fallacy of relative privation doesn't make it not hold weight. Leave your condescendence elsewhere.

using feminism as a flag for stupidity is a disgrace to feminism and to women who really fought opression.

Importance is a relative concept in every aspect of life, and attention is a scarse resource. Aren't you a feminist? Why don't you help poeple be aware of more damaging issues and solve your petty problems yourself ? Aren't you strong and independent?

You can cry because your hamburger is cold all you want, you just don't get shove it into people's faces without sounding like a spoiled brat. Specially when "There are children starving in Africa!"

Too bad you intellect is clouded and you can't see that.

Nice writing style though

It is wonderful that you found a way to get literally grounded by connecting to the earth. There is a great documentary on grounding called grounded that talks about how healing and inner peace can be found just by walking outside in your bare feet and feeling the power of the earth. Try gardening without shoes and see what a difference it can make.

I live near a lot of gum trees which drop an arsenal of spikey pods so going barefoot might not be the greatest idea right now. XD

Maybe the reason you felt good about swiching from complaining about patriarchy in the western wrold to gardening is because you switch to actually doing something useful

I am not very influential myself.

With the selfabsorbed whale on your case, it is going to be hard to get off the greyzone

people figure you out quickly, and you dont like it,
must be the patriarchy...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58309.71
ETH 2617.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42