You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Chart of Incompatible Plants

in #gardening8 years ago

Great information!! I heard once that we shouldn't plant parsley close to corianders, i tried once and only parsley grew! :s

I did a little search on Phytophthora sp. here where I found "... the Irish potato famine of the 1840s, caused by P. infestans. This Phytophthora species, probably natural from the southern Mexico, infects native species of potatoes without, causing major epidemics. But in Europe, it causes the potato disease commonly known as potato blight, which ravaged potato crops during the 1840s, with disproportionate impact in Ireland. The costs of these agricultural epidemics have been very high, every year billions of dollars are spent to combat Phytophthora diseases through the use of fungicides, resistant plants, and other horticultural practices."

Sort:  

@liliana.duarte any reason why the coriander didn't grow? I only experienced that parsley grow with everything - actually , specially with asparagus and tomatoes - these are its best growing buddies - so your coriander case is new.

EDIT : I experienced the phytophtora during my 1st gardening here I didn't know that the tomatoes should be in a glass house or anything similar to that otherwise it would automatically have that due to the weather here. Luckily only the fir tree beside it was affected but vinegar + water + salt helped the fir tree recover from it.

I'm not sure, but someone i knew that grows plants on a balcony told me that, and I never planted (seed) both in the same pot. I was able to grew parsley and coriander this winter in my small balcony, urray!!

@liliana.duarte I see. Perhaps it was more of an issue of the time or plant care? not really compatibility? - must be that
Congratulations with your parsley and coriander!
I have them in one pot in the kitchen haha easy for grabs but the coriander gets pulled more often and almost bald hahah - I love it on rice - makes the rice smell so damn good. I also have an Indian blood so there - hahah

She told me it was a compatibility thing, and she explained something about chemics​ in soil inhibition​n (I don't remember exaclty). I'm trying to find the document she send..but where?? If (when) i found it i'll share it with you!

@liliana.duarte sure,
she? - Mama?
Lucky you! My Mama went to slumber a long time ago!

This "she" was the person who explained me about the incompatibility.
But I'm really fortunate, yes, I still have my mother​ and hope to have her for a long time! Sorry for your loss...

Glad you were able to treat fir tree with natural methods. I would love to have a garden too, I love when I visit my mother (I will tell you a secret, I can go out in pajama and walk in the garden...it's so good)

@liliana.duarte that's something :D
thank you for sharing me that - quite intimate hihihihi
you know we're on public yeah?
now it's not a secret hahahah
I hope your boyfriend gets you a garden .. or that your mom shares it with you? Here, they have a lot of public gardens - its where our taxes go - the government supports that - the one on the video on the previous post is an organic one. The government here allocated a budget to allow the people to enjoy organic food - cool huh :D
I wonder if that's only in the Netherlands I think Germany and Belgium as well as France do the same -

Sometimes i forget it's public, but I wear decent pajamas!! I'm ok! ;)
Organic food is very appreciated at this place, from time to time we buy a basket, and vegetables are lots better!! Since I tasted organic spinach i never return to the conventional ones!

@liliana.duarte I can relate to you!
It's hard not to get carried away here specially when we are already virtual friends! for some reasons we developed a bond didn't we? It's something that cannot be explained - only felt. That's something I like about it here -
yes, you are so right about them tasting very different!

Yes, we really developed a virtual friend bond!! These Steemit relations are great, hard to explain really!!
Now I must turn off!! Nice chat :)

@liliana.duarte sleep tight <3!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62084.99
ETH 2415.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62