How to prune basil so it grows forever!

in #gardening7 years ago

Hey Steemians,

I am humbled by the response to my first posts here. I can tell this community is awesome already, so I am super excited to contribute what I can here.

Thank you to who commented, I loved connecting with you:

I figured I would continue with the fun how to gardening series with a description of how I prune my basil plants so they grow effectively "forever" - OK, not technically forever, but much longer than you're probably growing them right now!

Here is a video if you prefer that, otherwise I'll break it down into steps below!

Apical Meristems and Stem Cells for Plants?!

FXvVxKO.png

This pruning technique revolves around snipping off the apical meristem of your basil plant, or the region of your basil where the cells are actively and rapidly dividing to create new growth. The apical meristem is at the growing tip of the plant, and the cells are undifferentiated, meaning they can become whatever the plant needs them to be. They're stem cells.

In the above picture, you can see the apical meristem of a basil plant I am growing in a hydroponic setup.

What Happens When You Behead Your Basil?

ewYyCZm.png

In the above picture, you can see where I've clipped OFF the apical meristem.

If the apical meristem is the region of rapidly growing, undifferentiated cells, what happens when we chop it off?

Well, if you look closely at the picture above you'll notice two smaller stems next to where I pruned off the apical meristem...

These are what will become the new growing tips for this section of the basil plant. This causes your basil to become bushier, because instead of growing straight up, it's growing out in two opposite directions.

And just imagine — you can do this to those stems too if you want!

One Final Pruning Tip For Your Basil

One last thing — to preserve the flavor of your basil, make sure to pinch or clip off any flowering sections of the plant as soon as you see them. Once your basil moves into the flowering phase of growth, the flavor within its leaves changes to be more bitter, which ruins the reason we're growing it in the first place!

I'll leave you with one final picture of my basil after I massacred it...and used the leaves in a delicious salad ;)

n1UrqUP.png

Thanks For Reading!

I'm new to Steemit and appreciate any and all feedback on my writings! If you liked it, let me know what you liked! If you didn't, let me know how I can improve for next time!

If you found this post helpful on Steemit, would you please upvote it and follow me because you will then be able to see more posts like this in your home feed?

https://steemit.com/@halcyondaze

Thanks and happy pruning,
Kevin

Sort:  

I love making my own pasta sauce with my fresh grown tomatoes. I think next year I will grow my Garlic and Basil as well! May as well take it all the way :)

Nothing better than making your pasta sauce completely from scratch, including growing every single part of it! I haven't done that yet, but it's on my list of gardening goals. Definitely gave you a follow, I want to see this if it ever happens!

Wow..i did not know that. Thanks for the tips @halcyondaze now i have an idea while im starting my garden.. Resteem to all homesteading to let them know and learn something from your post!

Thank you for the resteem! Glad to see it's helping some people out. Let me know how this works for you if you try it! Followed you!

I will try it soon..i still planting some sedds for now..hope it will work for me..cause its my first time..😊

Best of luck my friend.

Thank you friend..im happy to see my seeds now slowly showing up some roots! :)

great video! thanks!

You're welcome, thanks for watching!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @halcyondaze to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment!

For more information, Click Here!

I'll try it right now on my basil! Thanks for sharing!

Happy to! Let me know how it goes :)

Congratulations @halcyondaze! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I need to grow some herbs, I only have regular veggies in my garden at this time.

Go for it! May I suggest basil, rosemary, and thyme? In my experience they tend to be the easiest to start with.

Great post and sharing to my gardening page.

You're too kind @christa! Thank you so much. Followed :)

nice post sir and your vote is important for me please do it
https://steemit.com/@steemit2020

I am growing basil for the first time this year. I didn't prune them and they have already flowered. If I dry the leaves, will they still have a bitter taste? Should I start over with new plants to get better flavor?

I would recommend starting with new plants to get a better flavor. Unfortunately when it starts to flower, the plant focuses all of its energy towards that process and the flavor really does degrade. On the plus side, now you know how to keep it from flowering ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66512.58
ETH 3313.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68