How to remove rust from tools easily

in #howto7 years ago

Hey Steemians, if you're like me you might be a little clumsy with your tools. In my case I left out a few pairs of pruners and it rained (which is rare in San Diego). They rusted. I was bummed. They were Felco F-2's which are pretty nice, so I set out to figure out how to de-rust them.

This method should work for any metal tool though, not just pruners!

I made a video for you all but there's also a step by step guide below with images too :)

What You’ll Need

  • Rusty tools
  • White distilled vinegar
  • Old mason jar or container
  • Scour pads
  • Some kind of lubrication or rust protection oil

Step 1 - Soak Your Tools in Vinegar

First things first - let's look at how bad my pruners were:

how-to-remove-rust-from-tools.jpg

Not TOO bad, but definitely in need of some love. Grab your container and pour white distilled vinegar inside, then place your tools in. You'll want to leave them for at least 24 hours to let the acidity of the vinegar do its work on your tools.

using-vinegar-to-remove-rust.jpg

After about 24 hours, the rustiest parts will have fallen off and the rest of the rust will be loosened up and ready for scouring.

Step 2 - Start Scouring!

cleaning-felco-2-pruners.jpg

Now that your tools are properly soaked, grab your scour pads and start hitting them hard. Make sure you get a scour pad with a bit of metal in it so you have a heavier-duty approach. I try to make sure I get as much rust off as possible, so I went a little scour-crazy here.

Don't be afraid to be heavy handed...we're going to dry and lubricate it next, so it's important to get off all of the rust.

Step 3 - Dry and Lubricate!

lubricating-pruners.jpg

After you’re done scouring , dry your tool as best as you can. This is important because we're applying a lubricating and rust-protecting oil next...and we all know water and oil don't mix well.

Step 4 - Enjoy Your Cleaned, De-Rusted, and Lubricated Tools :)

clean-felco-2-pruners.jpg

BOOM! Doesn't that look nice? A clean, de-rusted and lubricated tool! In the case of my Felco F-2’s, I shouldn’t need to repeat this process unless I foolishly leave them out again (which I promise will probably happen again).

Bonus - Why Does Vinegar Remove Rust?

If you're like me, you're probably curious as to WHY this works in the first place. Well, here's some chemistry for you:

3CH3COOH + FeOOH –> Fe(CH3COO)3 + 2H2O

What that gibberish is saying in English is the following:

Acetic acid (contained in vinegar) plus rust reacts to form iron (III) acetate, which is water-soluble. The reaction also creates some water as well.

That’s why the water looks rusty when you check on your tool after 24 hours – there is iron acetate in it!

This reaction doesn’t actually clean the metal, it just removes existing rust. That’s why we have to scour the rest of the rust off and add some lubricating and protective oil to make sure that no new rust forms.

Thanks For Reading!

I'm new to Steemit and appreciate any and all feedback on my writings! If you liked it, let me know what you liked! If you didn't, let me know how I can improve for next time!

If you found this post helpful on Steemit, would you please upvote it and follow me because you will then be able to see more posts like this in your home feed?

Thanks and happy cleaning,
Kevin

Sort:  

Very good! I also use vinegar to remove scale from my coffee machine or from the toilet , really powerful:-)

Oh I do too! Actually just my electric kettle...not sure why I didn't think to use it for my toilet. Heading upstairs with a gallon now...😉

ROFL...actually not inside the toilets, but in the button mechanisms you push to drain the water and in the "level floater" which stops the water when the reservoir is full. Those get cluttered by scale every few months. It also does a great job in my Nespresso coffee machine, and is 1000 times cheaper than their cleaning kit, but similar to better results :-)
...and don't use a gallon! leave some scale for posterity ...

HAHAHA OK good thing I saw this before I did it. I feel foolish now 😂

Most useful article. I have in fact got exactly the same pair of secateurs - and they are rusty too. I'll give this a try.

Let me know how it works for you - I've been using it on all my rusty tools now :)

What a simple process! Vinegar has so many uses around the homestead.

@originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @halcyondaze to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment!

For more information, Click Here!

Thanks for the kind words Dawne! Very simple indeed. Also this originalworks bot is pretty neat :)

Congratulations @halcyondaze! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Vinegar can do magic, and you prove it once again!

I didn't know just how powerful it was! Thanks for the kind words.

Thanks for sharing... Love it.

Thanks for the tip! Have to try this today

Let me know how it goes for you!

Something nobody said: you can pour some Coca Cola at certain rust object and the coke will take the rust away. Give it a try.

I know that Coca-Cola is acidic, so perhaps the same chemistry is at play? I will definitely try it for the next rusty too! Thanks for commenting.

Thanks for sharing... Love it.

You're very welcome!

Brilliant! Thanks for this. I was coincidentally, literally trying to derust garden sheers this afternoon. Perfect timing!

Hahaha, no way? I was shocked at how effective this strategy was. Initially I believed it'd be a myth of sorts...but it CRUSHED!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61533.72
ETH 3447.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51