Don't you just wanna...?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening7 years ago

mazus.jpg

Don't you just wanna walk down this path covered in Mazus reptans?

mazus path.jpg

What is Mazus reptans? It is a fabulous ground cover, great between stones of a path. It grows like a matt, and it can really spread fast. It needs full to part sun in well drained soil. Do you want to find out where this path leads?? (HA! You'll have to read til the end...)

Mazus must be kept after or it will just creep and crawl all over. It's flower is sort of snapdragon-ish but much smaller.
We often curse the stuff at this client's home because we are constantly cutting it back to the edge of each blue stone.

On the left of the path is lambs ear. On the right (top of pic to bottom) is perennial geranium. Some people call it cranesbill. It has a great pink flower. It' s just started to pop. Next is some heuchera, then more lambs ear, then close is alchemilla mollis, also called Lady's Mantle.

Today we deadheaded a bazillion daffodil spent stalks on this property, we tied up clematis vines, we oohed and ahhhed over the hidden bottle-brush buckeye that we have nursed from a sappling 5 years ago,

the bottle-brush buckeye
bottle brush.jpg

we also cut back asters, we tended to the small vegie garden and I, and I alone, tended to the boxwoods. There are 80 to 100 boxwoods at this place - a couple can be seen at the end of the Mazus path. They call me...the Shrub Doctor! LOL.

Anyway, I am pooped. Y'all have a lovely evening,

Happy Gardening, gardenlady

(all photos from my iphone 6+)

Oh yes! This path leads to a lovely patio! I went home early and apparently didn't finish cleaning up. My colleague sent me this photo of the end of the path and asked if I forgot something...;0)

A little mess...
rake (3).jpg
and the rake!
rake (2).jpg

Sort:  

Thank you for posting @gardenlady.

So enjoyed your well written lively post. Your friend is to be congratulated for her humour. ^_^

All the best to you. Cheers.

and cheers to you! Have a great weekend :-)

Excellent post dear friend @gardenlady, what a beautiful walk you have not invited, surrounded by beautiful flowers and plants, a verdero pleasure to accompany you on this walk, congratulations on the beautiful images, thank you very much for sharing this beautiful photos

you're welcome, @nano2nd! Glad you enjoyed it.

@gardenlady the mazus! damn beautiful effect !
edit: do you happen to know whether a legion of a certain glossy blue beetle like bug could actually chew up the whole edible garden?

do you have a photo?
does it look like this?
blue mint beetle.jpgblue mint beetle

ah so it's the mint that's attracting that?
Yes I do .. here and @bleujay recommended to ask you but I forgot from too much going around yesterday.
If I get rid of the mint would they be gone too?
Thank you again!

I don't really know much about it, but I did just search and read that the blue mint beetle has recently arrived in the UK! Well, 5 or 6 years ago
https://www.rhs.org.uk/advice/profile?PID=768
seems like getting rid of the mint would be the way to go.
Good luck!

@gardenlady thank you anyway
no one knows what they're called and they're here now too
thanks to you I could now check it out on the net
hopefully it would not cause much damage on my veggies

Those Mazus reptans look fabulous.

Thanks again @gardenlady. Always love your flower posts!

Looks gorgeous,I love a garden in the summer :)

awesome! great post.

Awesome. I love your knowledge of plants and flowers. You reminded me as well that I have got to deadhead the daffodils at my front!!

all in a day's work...!

love the purple ones. thanks for sharing

Wonderful !

The mazus reptans are beautiful! Thanks for sharing @gardenlady :)

You're welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63402.76
ETH 2554.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66