Sweet Peas

in #gardening7 years ago

There are three types of peas you can grow in your garden: shelling peas (or English peas), snow peas, and snap peas. All three varieties grow in a similar fashion so the methods I highlight here should work for growing which ever type you choose. I have grown all three but I have narrowed that down in recent years to only growing snow peas. English peas require an additional step of shelling before they make it to your plate which is not a big deal but I already spend too much time with food prep and the frozen peas these days are not too bad actually. Snap peas are a good choice but they seemed to get tough easier when I grew them so I’m strictly a snow pea grower now.

Peas do not require super rich soil and they actually fix nitrogen into the soil. So when planting make certain the soil is loamy and has good drainage but there is probably no reason to add fertilizer. Peas are one thing that prefer growing close together so plant seeds an inch or two apart and do not thin them after they germinate. Start peas in early spring since they are a cool weather loving plant. However since the ground is usually cool and wet in the early spring seeds may have a tendency of rotting in the soil. I recommend germinating the seeds inside in moist paper towels before putting them in the ground. This will increase your germination rate.

Peas are climbers so you will need something to support them as they grow. I usually grow in groups of approximately 15 seeds and use tomato cages for the peas to grow up.

IMG_0572.JPG

IMG_0573.JPG

You can use your imagination though and use anything available to support your peas. Whatever you choose however, make certain the support goes high enough for the peas to grab onto throughout the entire growing cycle. Otherwise the peas will fall back on top of themselves making harvest a nightmare – trust me I’ve been there. So here is what your peas should look like if everything works out. Notice the plants are only slightly higher than my cages.

IMG_0758.JPG

IMG_0759.JPG

There are a number of different varieties to choose from when selecting a snow pea. After trial and error I have found a variety called Avalanche to work best for me. They grow about 30” tall which is manageable and they don’t get tough right away which has been a problem for me with other varieties. Peas can be planted again in late summer to produce in the fall but I haven’t had as much luck with a late crop as I have with my early crop.

Thanks for reading and good luck with your peas. Please comment if you have anything to add and if you enjoyed this post please upvote and resteem.

Sort:  

You haven't lived till you've shelled peas for an hour.

I usually just let them bone dry on the vine, and then toss them all in a basket and rub them together, or break them up en mass all at once. It sort of works better, still a lot of work

I shell a lot of lima beans come July-Sep and they are a lot harder. I figure I'll give myself a break with peas and grow the snow variety.

my problem is not eating them as I go along. I love fresh peas, but don't like them as much cooked.

I don't want to live that way. :-)

Great advice, My peas are almost ready for harvest and I can't wait to eat them. I have a good crop this your too. Happy gardening.

I tried growing peas in the greenhouse this year to get an earlier start on the season. I picked my first actual harvest yesterday, which is pretty good for this growing zone. I'm going to have to try using tomato cages next time, this time I just used bamboo stakes and twine to hold the plants.
I have peas in the outdoor garden, they're about 3-4 inches tall right now. I didn't get them planted until almost the end of May. I should try germinating them like you said next time I plant them.

Germinating them inside definitely helped my germination rate.

Have you had to deal with any pests , cause I've just planted three plants against a wooden fence , south facing . Any prevention to look into would be well appreciated , for a first timer .

Slugs. I grew some a few years back (along with pole beans) and the slugs loved the early sprouts. I would say do some internet searching for remediation strategies/prevention and pick something that resonates with you, if you so choose. Once the vines got taller than 3", I didn't have any issues with the buggers that affected growth.

I never had a problem with slugs on peas. Slugs mostly attack my strawberries, cabbage, lettuce and cauliflower when it's raining a lot.

I never had a bug problem with peas. Hate to say it but you probably need a lot more than 3 plants to get a decent harvest. I probably have over 50 plants.

Put 12 seeds in two pots , and only 3 came up . Going to try another batch and see what happens . Also planted 12 runner beans , only 4 of them came through . Going to try these again as well

Try the pre-germination in damp paper towels.

Nice looking plants. I can tell you take pride in your garden. Thanks for sharing!

I live in the South and have the hardest time getting sweet peas planted in time to get a good harvest. Your plants look great!

Yeah that's the trick. I start in beginning of April here in PA but depending where you live you might want to gor Feb or Mar.

Unique gardens
thanks for sharing

Looks delicious!! Great Pics!

Haven't tasted them yet. Probably Friday. Can't wait.

Not sure why I never thought to use a tomato cage before, thanks for the idea! Sadly I am not growing peas this year but will remember this for next year!

I have extras lying around but all kinds of options. Even running string or twine works.

I have used a trellis normally used for roses that worked fine last year but wasn't tall enough. The tomato cage would be taller, again will have to try that next year. Thanks!

Looks really good! I need to get to work on my garden. My best friends dad has a garden that sustains him and his wife. They have leftovers most of the time. Like for the broccoli, they trim of enough that you could have more one week later. Same with the cabbage and a few others. All garden to table eating. I just put this post up a few minutes ago. https://steemit.com/photography/@captainobviou3/my-hot-chilies-are-back

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58668.45
ETH 3162.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44