Picking Cabbage Today!!

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

My favorite cabbage is savoy. I think it’s sweeter than regular cabbage and its ruffled leaves give it esthetic qualities as well. Just inspect the leaves closely when you’re cleaning. It’s easy for things to hide in all those creases.

IMG_0646.JPG

IMG_0647.JPG

Growing cabbage is not too complicated but you should have a lot of nitrogen in your soil to ensure success. Generally anything you grow where you are eating the actual plant (cole crops, lettuce, and spinach) requires generous amounts of nitrogen. Plants that make flowers to produce vegetables and fruits (tomatoes, peppers, and beans) require less nitrogen.

I usually mix some compost into the bed before planting and spread some organic fertilizer around the base of the plant when I put them in the ground. I also plant a cover crop called hairy vetch in the fall in beds where I plan on putting heavy nitrogen feeders the following year.

IMG_0614.JPG

Cabbage loppers and slugs are the main pests you need to be concerned about but unless your plants are infested badly you can probably get by without treating. If you are getting a lot of rain slugs become a bigger concern. I use a natural product called Escar-Go (haha isn’t that a great name) which is a blend of an iron phosphate originating from soil, with slug and snail bait additives. Apply in the evening if possible just before slugs come out for maximum effectiveness.

IMG_0592.JPG

Another trick is planting cabbage early in the season. Cabbage is tolerable of cold weather and can take nights slightly below freezing. My MO is plant early and beat the bugs. I start my own plants inside so I can get large healthy plants in the ground early (I’ll do a separate post sometime on my indoor seed starting operation). I do subsequent plantings to extend the season but the cabbage worms become an increasing problem as the season progresses.

Okay off to make my cabbage soup. Please comment and share your cabbage experiences.

Sort:  

This looks super green and tasty!:) Spring vegetables, yammie:)

I'll be eating it in a few hours so I'll let you know but I'm sure it will taste as good as it looks. Can't get any fresher.

garden inspiration!

Love your cabbage story. I've just made fermended curry cabbage. Delish!

Like a fancy sauerkraut?

Yes, sauerkraut. It is the easiest thing to do, and one of the best foods to eat for a healthy gut.

Awesome. Post your recipe some time. I get a lot of cabbage and could use something new to do with it.

I'll get the recipe up this afternoon still.

excellant tips , much apprecited

@garden-to-eat this is exactly the kind of veg growing instructions I need, thank you! To the point, clear step-by-step, with great tips on caring for the plants. I'm glad we met because I have a feeling I'll be collecting all these 'growing posts' of yours! I'll be really interested to see your next post on starting from seeds. I am the kind of person who can learn quite successfully but only when I know and understand everything I need to do from start to finish, including common problems and what to do about it - and you provided all this concisely and interestingly. Now you're my adopted garden guru :-)

Thank you so much @woman-onthe-wing! I was going to hold off on the indoor seed starting until later since there is so much coming in right now I'd like to share my pictures and harvest with everyone. What crops are you interested in growing? I was going to share my strawberry experiences next.

Congratulations @garden-to-eat! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

That looks awesome!

Thanks. Tasted good too!!

Wow just in time to upvote this post.´Following you too now, beautiful garden! How are the higher beds? I got some spine troubles so that might be a solution for me. I've seen people write about building them on straw, like planting their vegetables directly in straw. Ah yes, edit: You're some time ahead, we don't have the cabbage ready yet. I first looked if you're maybe down under but no, haha

The raised beds are mostly good but require upfront work obviously. The main problem for me is they dry out faster in the hot summer weather. Here is one of my early posts where I break it down:

https://steemit.com/garden/@garden-to-eat/flat-beds-or-raised-beds

Not sure about straw. I would think you would need some soil too. Maybe they pile up straw and soil on top or mixed in and raise the bed that way. Before I started building boxes I used straw between my beds to hold down weeds and then moved the straw into the beds at the end of the season. Mice love straw though.

Yes that's true, like they love compost heaps. We also have lots of rabbits. I've seen someone write (or blog) about it, they used just straw, that rectangular bound straw, and said it's enough and can use it as fertilizer afterwards. I think I'll try it in a corner next year, too late now.

Thats a different variety than i plant but looks good. I have found that when you plant at home, in a container, expecially one with high sides and off the main ground, you have less bug problems. I plant commercially, though still small, so i can't afford to 'baby' them. good luck, i love seeing people planting

That variety is savoy cabbage. It's very good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59737.47
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43