You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Growing Potatoes

in #gardening7 years ago

ok so tomatoes will have big trouble up there. Your best things to grow will be cool loving crops such as anything in the cabbage family (broccoli, cauliflower, kohlrabi, etc). Any leafy greens like lettuce and root vegetables should do fine. Peas are good and you may get away with beans since they are easy. Tomatoes, peppers, eggplant will have problems. Squash and cucumbers may work well since they love water but they may be slow due to the cool weather. There's some ideas. What are you interested in growing?

Sort:  

Ah ok yes, because tomatoes etc need lots of sunshine and warmth right?! I never stop hoping for a decent summer haha! Honestly I love all kinds of veg and fruit and would happily grow anything because I really would like to grow instead of buy. Organic food is so pricey but I refuse to poison my family with pesticides and GMOs so surely anyone's fingers can become 'green' with determination and experience over a few years! I'm glad you say broccoli would do well as broccoli is my ultimate love and I'd marry it if I could ;-) Thanks for this advice @garden-to-eat!

haha don't get your husband jealous of a vegetable.

Hee hee :-) He doesn't understand my passion for broccoli at all :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66392.28
ETH 3318.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69