Growing Potatoes

in #gardening7 years ago

IMG_0872.JPG

So I began harvesting potatoes today. I have three or four different types in the ground but these in the picture are Red Pontiac.

Generally when you purchase potatoes to grow, they come in a package of potato sections and each section should have at least one good eye. Usually a package comes with at least 10 or 12 eyes and as many as 25. I only have space for maybe a dozen in one of my boxes. This year I decided to try planting some of the organic ones I purchased at the grocery store for consumption to give me some flexibility in growing different varieties rather than all the same type. I heard there is some risk of disease planting potatoes from the grocery store but so far they look good. And nonorganic potatoes have probably been treated with preservatives so I doubt they will even grow.

Potatoes prefer slightly acidic soil, so like the case with blueberries, apply sulfur or some acidifier to adjust the PH if necessary. In regards to pests I personally don’t have much problem but there is the dreaded potato beetle which can wreak havoc. I do see a beetle at times but there are never enough to inflict much damage so I don’t spray my potatoes with anything.

When planting, I start off by digging holes for the potato eyes approximately 6”-8” deep and about 2-3’ apart. You want to put the potato section in the ground with the eye pointing up and cover with 2”-3” of soil. As the plants emerge in a couple weeks I let them grow for a while and then start moving the remainder of the soil around the plant until all the soil has been returned to the hole and the bed is smooth. Finally after the potatoes have been growing for about a month, I spread a generous amount of my leaf mulch around the plants so the tubers are well protected. You don’t want the sun to hit the potatoes while they are growing or they will turn green and become toxic.

Here is what the bed looked like back in May after I was done mulching.

IMG_0586.JPG

And here they were a couple weeks ago looking very healthy and even producing some pretty white and yellow flowers

IMG_0686.JPG

IMG_0786.JPG

I usually don’t even think about harvesting until the plants start looking shabby and dying off. This is when I know there probably won’t be any further growth with the tubers under the ground. I staggered my planting which is another advantage of using grocery store potatoes. You cans see the plants on the bottom of the picture not looking too good while others are still green and healthy looking.

IMG_0869.JPG

IMG_0868.JPG

I pull the sick looking plant and throw it in the compost and fish around the dirt with a garden glove on and bingo I have potatoes

IMG_0871.JPG

And that’s about all there is to growing potatoes. You can try them in containers and bags but I’ve never done that so I can’t say if it works well. Thanks for reading and good luck. Please don’t forget to upvote and resteem if you enjoyed this post.

Sort:  

Potatoes normally yield best when planted directly into the ground; however, Red Pontiac do quite well in large pots, bags and even bales of hey... In my opinion potatos are on the top ten list of survival foods if the SHTF.....

I enjoyed viewing your pictures, because the plants looked well cared for by a home gardener.... How long have you been gardening?

You're making me reveal my age. I've been at it for over 35 years. But I did start rather young lol

I deduced that you are no spring chicken... It's hard to tell from the pictures, but it looks like your potatoes had some flea beetle pressure. Those pin holes on the leaves are a strong indication of those little bast%*rds..

Yeah they are all over the place. But do you think they have much effect on potato production? I spray my eggplant with neem and give up on arugula in the summer.

Sorry, I was actually outside in my own garden for a few hours ...

The short answer to your question is, yes, anything that damages and/ or robs your plants of resources affects production; however, because you're not totally dependant on your crops for survival then you need not worry... Your spuds look fine...

You said that non-organic potatoes would not grow. I don't think that I have ever tried to grow store bought potatoes as I've been growing Yucon Gold that I bought from a seed exchange a few years ago. However, I have seen ordanary store bought potatoes sprout when I've forgot about them in the pantry.

Well they might but you would have to keep them out for a while and get them sprouting. I remember reading an article somewhere that recommended not to use non organic. It actually recommended against any store bought due to the risk of introducing disease as I alluded to but I had to find out for myself.

After about half a day to ponder this issue, I've come up with this: Genetically Modified Organism (GMO) potatoes (if GMO potatoes exist) are probably the ones to avoid. I know many GMOs are built not to propagate. Thus forcing the farmer to go back and buy from the seed manufacturer every year. So making the assumption that all organic potatoes are non-GMO, this may explain the problem your running into with non-organics. However, I think the more accurate dividing line is GMO/non-GMO.

Now, moving onto disease, I don't see any real reason why there would be a difference, but I never really thought about it. My gut tells me that the disease issues likely to occur are mostly rot. Which would be seen before you even plant. In the end this is an issue that is be well suited to experimentation, anyone ever try growing store bought, non-organic, non-GMO potatoes?

From my readings and viewing, GMO is not permitted in organically labeled food. Whether or not this is properly regulated may be debatable but I have heard this from multiple sources.

In regard to store bought potatoes versus certified seed, below are a couple references discussing the subject. As you can see from my pictures, my plants look very healthy but the store bought plants haven't been harvested yet. The red pontiac were purchased at a nursery so maybe I'll do a follow up post in a month and let you know how my store bought turned out.

http://homeguides.sfgate.com/tips-planting-potatoes-store-68919.html

http://www.gardeningchannel.com/growing-potatoes-from-store-bought-potatoes/

Nice! I'm growing potatoes in cinder blocks, this is the 2nd year in doing this. I just added the 3rd row a week ago and I'm thinking I might be able to put on another row here soon!

Cool. That's a raised bed that won't deteriorate to rapidly. So you just add dirt as the potatoes grow out of there block?

Exactly! I put more dirt on the plant when the leaves get a couple of inches above the dirt.

Yay! I'm so glad to see you getting a harvest! That soil looks wonderful :) Hopefully my Potato Tower experiment yields a few spuds as well, but I reckon it will not produce like your raised beds.

yeah keep me updated on your crazy experiment.

I didn't even know potatoes produced flowers

Me either. Nice.

Yes pretty cool. Always nice to see some color in the garden.

Nice looking spuds!

Great looking spuds there @garden-to-eat! I am growing some too, my first try ever, so we'll see what they look like compared to yours!!! I was wondering how one knows when it's time to harvest, but you have explained everything. Thanks so much, and when I do my harvest post, whenever that may be, I'll be sure to get your opinion hehe!!

Hey woman-onthe-wing. Good to hear from you. That's great you're growing potatoes. Good luck and let's see some pictures when you harvest.

That's reminded me - I should take some now as they're all leafy and looking pretty good actually! (I think!) I have other things too out in my little greenhouse, and now things are growing bigger and it's got to the point where Im not exactly sure what to do next... haha. For example, I have a cherry tomato plant that's about 5" tall and currently in a pot about 5"diameter... it needs a bigger pot, right? But when, and how big is bigger? I don't expect you to answer @garden-to-eat if you're busy - I can look it up no prob - I am just showing you my level of novice haha! But surely I will get it all figured out and probably plenty of trial and error over the years :-)

No hurry to transplant the cherry tomato but it will have to go into a much larger pot if you expect to get much out of it. You know it's kind of late for a tomato plant that is only 5" tall. Are you going to let it stay in your greenhouse and produce in the autumn?

Errrrrrmmmmmm........ good question, and I have no idea whatsoever... oops! I have been a bit of a whimsical gardener this year... not getting anything planted at the right times but just having a general attitude of "It be right" (I'm from the Yorkshire Dales, England) and planting anyway. I have decided to put together a diary for next year though and be more organised about it! This year I'm just keeping them all alive and hoping for the best :-)

So you are in southern Ireland right? It's difficult not knowing the climate exactly but I assume it's rather on the wet side and doesn't get too terribly hot in the summer or too cold in the winter. We have to get your climate figured out first, then I can help with what might grow well there and when to plant things.

I'm up in the northwest coast, County Donegal, about 2 miles from the sea and a forest inbetween. It gets super stormy and wet, and even quite cool temperatures in summer. Most days are overcast and showery. The last couple winters have been milder than usual and very wet. Autumns are usually quite warm until about mid-October when the storms come and it gets chilly.

ok so tomatoes will have big trouble up there. Your best things to grow will be cool loving crops such as anything in the cabbage family (broccoli, cauliflower, kohlrabi, etc). Any leafy greens like lettuce and root vegetables should do fine. Peas are good and you may get away with beans since they are easy. Tomatoes, peppers, eggplant will have problems. Squash and cucumbers may work well since they love water but they may be slow due to the cool weather. There's some ideas. What are you interested in growing?

Such a great idea to stagger your planting. Also great photo summary + article - easy upvote ;)

Thanks much. I stagger everything now. You learn with experience how much you can eat at one time lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 55173.73
ETH 2879.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30