You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Growing Potatoes

in #gardening7 years ago

Potatoes normally yield best when planted directly into the ground; however, Red Pontiac do quite well in large pots, bags and even bales of hey... In my opinion potatos are on the top ten list of survival foods if the SHTF.....

I enjoyed viewing your pictures, because the plants looked well cared for by a home gardener.... How long have you been gardening?

Sort:  

You're making me reveal my age. I've been at it for over 35 years. But I did start rather young lol

I deduced that you are no spring chicken... It's hard to tell from the pictures, but it looks like your potatoes had some flea beetle pressure. Those pin holes on the leaves are a strong indication of those little bast%*rds..

Yeah they are all over the place. But do you think they have much effect on potato production? I spray my eggplant with neem and give up on arugula in the summer.

Sorry, I was actually outside in my own garden for a few hours ...

The short answer to your question is, yes, anything that damages and/ or robs your plants of resources affects production; however, because you're not totally dependant on your crops for survival then you need not worry... Your spuds look fine...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66338.04
ETH 3306.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69