Potting up my new Steemit Facilitated Elderberry cuttings

in #gardening7 years ago

Perfect timing is great when it happens. I received my package yesterday from Papa-Pepper with the Elderberry cuttings and at the end of my post Steemit Plant Trade with @papa-pepper, YAY Elderberries!! I mentioned having to get them potted up. Once @stryeyz got home from work I was able to run and grab my soil.

IMG_20170927_194129814.jpg

One of the best seed starting mixes I have used. Black Gold is probably the most widely used and well known companies. I ended up getting 3 of these bags so I will have some on hand. The first thing I did was to empty the contents of the bag into a plastic tub.

IMG_20170927_191117886.jpg

I scooped up the soil into the 1 quart pots one by one.

IMG_20170927_191250628.jpg

The pots were all filled to the top and tapped down to compress the mix a little bit.

IMG_20170927_191304773.jpg

All the pots filled and in the carrier. The carrier is meant for slightly smaller pots, but these fit fine and the larger size makes for more room for the cuttings.

IMG_20170927_191620926.jpg

The cuttings were put into water after I received them. Before beginning potting I took the cuttings and submerged them in water for a short time to hydrate the entire thing.

IMG_20170927_191702385.jpg

Next step was to poke 2 holes per pot with my finger. I opted for my finger because it created a larger hole that would allow the cutting to be inserted without loosing the rooting compound.

IMG_20170927_191725685.jpg

I use Rootone for cuttings to help improve the rooting. It has been around for years and has shown to be quite effective at helping induce rooting.

IMG_20170927_192032076.jpg

I took each cutting and dipped the end in the powder, rolling the container around to fully coat it. After coating the end I tap it off to remove the excess Rootone.

IMG_20170927_192248251.jpg

Each cutting was put into one of the pre-poked holes. Once both cuttings were placed in the pot I pressed the soil down and compacted it around the cutting. I added more soil to top each one off.

IMG_20170927_192254037.jpg

IMG_20170927_193232115.jpg

Once the last pot was filled and pressed I took the tray outside and watered them all really well to get the soil good and hydrated. I am away from the farm for the weekend so I wanted to make sure they would make it a while before needing water. The tray is sitting inside the house and will remain so until next spring when hopefully the rooted cuttings will be ready to plant outside.

IMG_20170927_194129814.jpg


Camera: Motorola Droid Phone

Check out my blog @flemingfarm

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, resteeming, & following!


Join the SteemitHomesteaders Slack Channel! Image is Invite Link.


http://SteemitHomesteaders.slack.com

Sort:  

I just saw your Homesteading adventure from Pops peppers page and i couldn't help but follow you, if i find my way to over there i wouldn't mind some Home Steading Internship😊

Really, there are many of us who would be more than happy to impart knowledge and experience we have. That is a killer idea though, "Home Steading Internship" sounds like it could be an awesome project. Might take a bit of organizing but would be really beneficial for all involved.

I'll really love it to happen, but am in Far away Nigeria in Africa...

There is the power of the Steemit community. You have the ability to put forth your proposal and ask for the help needed to make your dream happen. You are well aware of this at this point, but occasionally a reminder can be helpful.

The potential for the platform is astoundingly vast, and one of my dreams is that it hits the mainstream. If Stemit can get even .05% of FB's traffic, that can lead to better and more valuable situations.

Is it possible to write a proposal for my immigration processes? Have tried reached out to some professionals here. Please is there a chance to chat you up on Discord or Steemchat for privacy?

I just potted yours yesterday! We will see!

wonderfull gaeden 😍

Whenever I pot cuttings that are not 'same-day fresh', I have a tendency to want to cut off the old 'stump' at the end and so it's a fresh cut end with a fresh start with the rooting powder. My feeling is that the old end is kind of dried out and scabbed over. I have no scientific basis for that though.

There are many different schools of thought on that. I feel that it is best to give a fresh cut at the base. Most things it seems to work well for but some plants require a healed end to be planted, sort of like cactus. One reason for making a new cut can be to eliminate possible pathogens or funguses/molds that might attack it. Rootone has a fungicide in it for that reason.

I would love some elderberry but albeit I am in London UK, I know I will be gifted them soon. I will be following you and keeping up with your post @flemingfarm. I have just started to Lasagna no dig my urban garden so that I can grow fruit and vegetables next year.

I would love some tips, ideas, advice and support if you have time take a look and all constructive criticism welcomed thank you for the post.

I have seen people have amazing success with the layered composting so I think you are on the right track. It works wonders on transforming poor soil into rich luscious soil. Cardboard is nice in that everyone will give it to you so it should cost nothing.

Elderberries grow from seeds as well so your best bet will be to get them as they will make it across the pond and border most likely way easier than cuttings.

That's awesome. I need to try to grow some elderberry here in Panama! I wonder if it's too tropical for it here. I went to a class once and learned how to make elderberry syrup. We plant everything here from cuttings. We just stick it in the ground and it grows. Volcanic soil must be good for doing that! That Rootone looks really good. Thanks for the post. Really thorough on how to plant a cutting! :)

POSITIVELY great post! Every step covered and great pictures.

Keep us updated on the progress and I'm going to watch @papa-pepper for his post of transplanting yours!

What a great plant/seed trade.

Thank syering...
I like your post

Thank you very much for sharing inspiring content.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61227.67
ETH 2682.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62