You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Potting up my new Steemit Facilitated Elderberry cuttings

in #gardening7 years ago

Whenever I pot cuttings that are not 'same-day fresh', I have a tendency to want to cut off the old 'stump' at the end and so it's a fresh cut end with a fresh start with the rooting powder. My feeling is that the old end is kind of dried out and scabbed over. I have no scientific basis for that though.

Sort:  

There are many different schools of thought on that. I feel that it is best to give a fresh cut at the base. Most things it seems to work well for but some plants require a healed end to be planted, sort of like cactus. One reason for making a new cut can be to eliminate possible pathogens or funguses/molds that might attack it. Rootone has a fungicide in it for that reason.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63931.86
ETH 2639.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83