My attempt to control Powdery Mildew on my squash UPDATE with NEW Recipe and Attempt #2

in #gardening7 years ago

4 Days Later Progress Update First


IMG_20170912_150106895.jpg

4 days ago was my first post: My attempt to control Powdery Mildew on my squash with this recipe which used Baking Soda and Neem oil. That was also the day of application with removal of some of the more infected leaves. You can see on the above plant that the recipe proved effective in knocking back the powdery mildew. The plant was WHITE from the mildew and now it is mostly clear of it and is showing healthy new growth.

The application did not get applied as heavily to non affected plants so it allowed them to continue to become infected over the past days. The following 2 shots show the evil white mildew of death taking over more leaves. This led me to look at another application today to try and get caught up with the eradication.

IMG_20170912_150117697.jpg

IMG_20170912_150112231.jpg

Now for Recipe & Attempt #2


1/3 cup Baking Soda

1/3 cup Insecticidal Soap

2 Gallons water

I have a bunch of various things on hand at all times and this happens to be one. I only need something that is an oil that will help keep the Baking Soda and water solution adhered to the plant's leaves. Plus this is a bit cheaper than Neem oil.

IMG_20170912_145437941.jpg

Step 1: Gather materials together

IMG_20170912_145442782_HDR.jpg

Step 2: Fill sprayer with 1 gallon water

IMG_20170912_145652245_HDR.jpg

Step 3: Add 1/3 cup Baking Soda to sprayer

IMG_20170912_145530796.jpg

Step 4: Add 1/3 cup Insecticidal Soap to sprayer

IMG_20170912_145557814.jpg

Step 5: Fill sprayer to 2 gallon mark with water and SHAKE, SHAKE, SHAKE to dissolve Baking Soda.

IMG_20170912_145705748_HDR.jpg

Step 6: Apply VERY LIBERALLY to any and all infected surfaces of the plants to include leaves, stems, and fruit.

IMG_20170912_150205548.jpg

IMG_20170912_150224412.jpg

IMG_20170912_150302954.jpg

I will post an update in a few days on how this recipe seems to work. I am hoping that if anything, the combination of all my recipes will be the death toll for the mildew.


Camera: Motorola Droid Phone

Check out my blog @flemingfarm

OR

You can read my blog series here:

Being a Father and a Farmer can be a struggle
Gardener Gripe - "#gardenergripe"
Time#1.0 - Back Pain
Expectations#2.0 - Weeds
Patience#3.0 - Pests - Gophers

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, resteeming, & following!


Join the SteemitHomesteaders Slack Channel! Image is Invite Link.


http://SteemitHomesteaders.slack.com

Sort:  

I used 50% milk and 50% water on mine and it took care of the mold really well. Put it in a sprayer and spray on infected areas, and trim all infected leaves. Wonderful natural mold remedy. I had the same problem week and a half ago. I posted pictures of the process on my steemit blog. Hope you conquer the mold! Best of luck!

Thanks. The milk recipe has been on my radar for a while and I will be getting to that soon. Price on the milk has been my stumbling point since it will take me 3 or 4 gallons of milk to cover the area needed, for one application. Kinda building a suite of recipes at this point that can take care of the PM.

Wow! That is a lot of milk. Good luck! Keep us posted.

I've heard about using milk but haven't had the chance. We're planning on growing hops next year and I know powdery mildew is a big concern in my area...I'll definitely be trying your milk recipe.

Love this update! I am still so curious about the milk, but I know Safer Brand soap is some good stuff. I've used it on a lot of stuff in my garden to good results.

I'm battling cabbage moths right now, so I hear you on the frustrations!

thx for sharing

I'm going to have to write this stuff down for next year, I'm pretty much done for this year with the summer squash and cucumbers.

Good luck! Hope you can save your plants.

Great update @flemingfarm you doing great and am learning from you..tks for sharing

I hope that spray works for you!

Hey there! I just wanted to inform you that your article has been included and linked in the most recent issue of the Weekly Homesteading Newsletter! Please check it out if you have the time! Thank you and have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63764.77
ETH 3430.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53