My attempt to control Powdery Mildew on my squash with this recipe

in #gardening7 years ago

My summer squash plants are suffering in the long, hot, dry summer days. The powdery mildew has started taking hold and is causing my plants to lose leaves and fruit. I finally found the most gentle (organic) way of dealing with it, the ATTRA article: Use of Baking Soda as a Fungicide was the primary article with which I based my recipe.

The article by Master Gardener Linda Chalker-Scott, Ph.D, Baking soda will fungi fail and roses rejoice? confirms the efficacy of the bicarbonate fungicide, BUT only when used with a surfactant, oil, soap, something to keep the solution adhered to the plant.

The method of action is not fully understood:

While their precise mode of action against fungi is not understood, Horst states that bicarbonates seem to damage the cell wall membrane in PM spores. He also believes pH to be a factor in bicarbonate effectiveness. In any case, bicarbonates are contact fungicides, and kill PM within minutes. Src

There are numerous products on the market now (SEE HERE) that are bicarbonate based fungicides. Potassium carbonate is the more effective of the carbonates but the sodium will work.

The 3 ingredients needed for the fungicide are Baking Soda, an Oil or Soap, and water.

The exact amounts I used of each for a 2 gallon mixture are as follows.

3 Tablespoons Baking Soda

2 Fluid Ounces Neem Oil

2 Gallons Water

IMG_20170908_104923997.jpg

A pump sprayer is necessary in order to properly cover the plant surfaces, and is mandatory if spraying a larger area than a few plants.

IMG_20170908_104844153.jpg

Add 3 Tablespoons of the Baking Soda to the pump sprayer.

IMG_20170908_105010700.jpg

Add 2 Fluid Ounces (1/4 cup) of Neem Oil, surfactant or soap. Fill the bottle with 2 gallons of water and screw the pump together.

IMG_20170908_105059945.jpg

Spray the surface of all infected leaves and make sure to completely coat the surfaces.

IMG_20170908_110950124.jpg

The stems all need to be sprayed to try to eradicate the mildew or else it will have no problems returning. It can also be a good idea to remove infected leaves, trying not to allow the spores to spread by bagging the plant material.

IMG_20170908_111007486.jpg

I just did this today, so over the next few days I should be able to discern the efficacy of my recipe. I really hope this works since I still have at least a month of growing season left so the plants can't die yet.


Camera: Motorola Droid Phone

Check out my blog @flemingfarm

OR

You can read my blog series here:

Being a Father and a Farmer can be a struggle
Gardener Gripe - "#gardenergripe"
Time#1.0 - Back Pain
Expectations#2.0 - Weeds
Patience#3.0 - Pests - Gophers

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, resteeming, & following!


Join the SteemitHomesteaders Slack Channel! Image is Invite Link.


http://SteemitHomesteaders.slack.com

Sort:  

It would be a shame to lose the plants at this point. Neem oil is a great choice. I am fortunate as I have several Neem trees growing on my homestead. Neem oil is good for a lot of things.

I would love to have neem trees but they are no where near my zone. One of the most versatile natural products I can think of.

Thanks for posting this recipe! I'm going to need it, my zucchini get powder mildew every year.
I gotta resteem this!

I have a regular issue with it and am now finally getting reactive to it, next year I will be highly pro active in keeping it at bay.

I didn't grow much in the way of squash this year, so I didn't have to deal with it.

Our tried and true solution is 50/50 milk to water sprayed on the leaves. I usually pull the really infected leaves first. Easy, peasy and works like a charm!

I have read about this and want to try it, but milk is a bit expensive when I have as many plants as I do. So far this is showing potential, I just need to do another application this evening as I didn't get everything coated like I need to.

Hey there! I just wanted to inform you that your article has been included and linked in the most recent issue of the Weekly Homesteading Newsletter! Please check it out if you have the time! Thank you and have a great day!

Thank you very much! I very much appreciate the inclusion in the newsletter!

Have you tried milk? I usually cut off the most affected leaves and sections of my mildewy plants, then spray milk over the rest and it takes care of the problem. Powdery mildew is SUPER ANNOYING though and it seems like different approaches work for different people.

Not yet but I have read of it. There are quite a few "old school remedies" that I have been finding in old homesteading books that proves your point. There are numerous different ways people have found to deal with mildew.

If you give it a shot, report back your findings...always curious to see how it works for others.

Filed away for next years squash. thx.

Sure thing! I think it may be helpful to prevent the mildew as well eradicate it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64097.37
ETH 3476.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53