The recent plant nursery visit #2 - Avonia Papyracea

in #gardening6 years ago

This is the weirdest plant we got and the the weirdest we own. I saw online that some Avonias
have those nice, fat caudex and big pink blossoms. This one doesn't have any of those. It just looks like rat tails covered in scales sticking out from the soil :p

Avonia papyracea 1.jpg

Since the attractive caudex is not there, it basically grows straight from the soil and has quite a regular, succulent root. That is at least what I managed to check in Google. The flowers will show up on the tips of those rat tails and apparently they will bloom for only 2-4 hours!! Damn I will have to pay attention to this one. They also meant to be very scented and have very pale white, almost translucent petals. So I definitely do not want to miss that.

Avonia papyracea 2.jpg

But the plant is so weird... Don't have any experience with this one so any advise is more than welcome :) It seems to be potted now in peat, which I think it is better to remove and put it in some more draining mix. I am kind of scared to move it though :p

Avonia papyracea 3.jpg

In case you missed it, here is #1 Echeveria Purpusorum
Five more to go :)

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
(ƒ/11, 1/320, ISO400)
Click on the image to view full screen!

»»-------------¤-------------««

Qurator 3.0 - UPDATE POST - Guidelines | Registration Details | Tier Changes

To support the project
vote for @qurator as a Steemit witness on
steemit.com, or SteemConnect
Thank you.

Sort:  

Don't fall asleep or you'll miss it!

Yeaa.. I will be on a 24h watch from now on..

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

Sigma 105mm lens, I love him so much

Oh me too... me too :)

As promised, here are his flowers:
jardin et cactus 009.jpg

ewkew.jpg

Hello pretties :) Such cute yellow tips!
I think mine is just slightly smaller than yours, so maybe it still still bloom this year. Would be cool.

Nice!

Here is a picture of Avonia Papyracea that I took at the succulent show I went to last month. Depending on the subspecies, it can get quite big over time. You can see that this one is flowering.
avonia papyracea.jpg

I bought Avonia recurvata, which is similar but even smaller than yours. The advice I was given is to give it morning sun and it likes a fair amount of water, not like pleiospilos :p Water like faucaria or similar.

It does look like it is planted in peat moss, which can be tricky and I would get it out of there if it is. You could plant in potting soil though, if it is well-draining. Otherwise try a cactus and succulent mix.
To take it out of peat moss, water a little bit at a time, until it is damp through. Then, gently unpot it and teases the peat moss away from the roots. You don't have to get too much off, just break up the clumps and structure and then get it into your new medium

That one is big!
I can give it morning sun, no problem. And more water than the other buggers :p
Yes, I think I will have to take it our of that thing soon.
Thank you :))

Supercool... looks like you stuck sticks with gum and scales and then stuck them to the pot! Hehe... I see the 'scales' seem porous... like someone's dead skin! 😳

Hahaha Bruno chose this one. He always goes for the weirdest ones... (hmm.... )
They are little scales and under that scares are tiny green leaves :)

It almost looks like braided rope or the seed pods on a birch tree. You better set up a surveillance camera to make sure you don't miss a thing! Thanks for sharing. I have never seen anything like this one.

Hahaa I will be watching it like a hawk! :D
I it the first time I have seen it too. Lets see how long it will live :p

I feel confident it will live a long and happy life.

Don't be afraid to move peat. This Avonia is not so sensitive.
It is a beauty, one of the top candies of succulent world. :)
I have only one stem of it; I've got it as gift and rooted it successfully!

I will no kill it? :D
That is a good thing already. I will be repoting most of them soon (some don't need it). Just need to get a proper soil and for now they are adjusting to my balcony.
Should I pot it back as deep as it is?

Yes, as deep as it is now. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64337.17
ETH 3175.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56