Defeat and new beginning?

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)

After 7 years of trying to grow beautiful blooming annuals and bulbs, it is time to admit that I failed. I have tried different techniques, changing places, pots, sowing earlier or later...
I simply cannot have tulips, gladiolus, asters.... They will grow and then die too fast. It is too hot. Bulbs do not want to preserve well since it is not cold enough in winter and I could go on and on about it.
I manage with some so I will keep one pot for them. But the rest probably will have to go :(

In that 7 years I was slowly getting more and more sun loving plants like perlargoniums, aeoniums, sempervivums, kalanchoes, sedums, all kinds of echeverias and some still not like it that much. Some look amazing!
Lately (last 2 years or so) I started to get more cacti. And would you look at that... they seem to do great! Is it time to transform my balcony to a cacti paradise? Maybe... less hassle, less deaths ;)

/end_rant

cactus six pack.jpg

So yesterday I showed you my first blooming balcony cactus and I was so stunned when I saw it and how easy it was to make it bloom. Or was it a beginners luck? I also mentioned that I got a six pack (not beer!) of small cacti when I was grocery shopping. I know those supermarket ones are pumped to grow faster and be fatty and pretty. I will make sure they slowly get used to sun and outside conditions.
Also got a bunch of clay pots, lava rocks, cactus soil mix and I still have lots of naturally picked sand. Oh yes... they are gonna be happy :)

I tried to ID them and this is what I came up with:

Mammillaria of some sort :)
My most favourite of the bunch! Love those lovely little round ones with small or no spines at all.

Cactus Mammillaria round.jpg

And another Mammillaria with dark spines.

Cactus Mammillaria dark spines.jpg

And one more Mammillaria with white spines that got a bit damaged.

Cacus Mammillaria white spines.jpg

Opuntia Tuna

Cactus Opuntia Tuna.jpg

A hairy Oreocereus celcianus. Probably a pillar cactus which I also am not huge fan of, but look at that white hair :)

Cactus Oreocereus celcianus.jpg

And my least favorite... but since there always has to be one ugly in the bunch, here it is - Cereus Peruvianus Monstrose

Cereus Peruvianus Monstrose.jpg

I hope I got the names right, if not feel free to correct me.
Soon will give them new tags, take them out from that mush they are planted in and hopefully they will have a happy life here.

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
Click on the image to view full screen!

»»-------------¤-------------««

Qurator 3.0 - UPDATE POST - Guidelines | Registration Details | Tier Changes

To support the project
vote for @qurator as a Steemit witness on
steemit.com, or SteemConnect
Thank you.

Sort:  

Beautiful pictures of beautiful cacti!
My favorite!
At me with bulbs flowers too complexities.
But not with everyone.
Now I planted bulbs of lilies, amaryllis - they sprouted.
I hope to get their flowering.

I hope they do! I have no problem with Freesias, but everything else just dies :(
I repoted them all today to new pots and they look just beautiful! :)

Super!

There are cactus beers! haha
When it's too hot, like at home too,
the best is cacti and succulents, that's what's best.
And it makes beautiful flowers!

Hahah yep :D And they last a lot longer than beer :p
Yea... I was looking at all kinds of small cacti flowers and they are just so amazing! Then they grow bigger and have multiple plants in a pot.. love it :)
Just wish the flower did last longer.

Yes, you will show us their beautiful flowers!

Yes I will :D Soon I hope...

Can't really help on cactus names but they look correct. Of course, I like the monstrose most. They get really big and aren't suitable for balconies. They aren't that common so if you grow it quite a bit bigger, you could sell it for a bit

Haha, @brumest likes it too :p
I might have to do that if it gets too big. Maybe I will like it more with time... For now it stays. I still prefer those roundish shaped ones that grow side ways more than up.

I am very impressed with your garden of cacti @ewkaw I think you maybe onto something here after having the patience for 7 years trying to grow plants that weren't suitable for the environment........all to do with the environment......not your lack of skill I'm sure. Those cacti plants would do well on my balcony. I do not have green thumbs.....and besides they'd end up red dripping with my blood if my fingers got too close to these desert beauties. (lol) , I wish you great success with these plants. Keep us informed on your progress.

Thank you Trudee :))
Some plants do grow and bloom, but some just refuse and I will have o give up on those and make room for the one that will like the heat and sun. There is so many photos small cacti pots in bloom and they are just equally gorgeous.
You could pick the ones without spines. Or with very very tiny ones.... You can almost pet them, they are so cute :)) I like those the most too. I hate to be scratched all the time.

Well.....your comments certainly surprise me @ewkaw knowing how much you like petting the soft fur of animals. Somehow, the thought of petting these prickly plants doesn't excite me. (lol) I'd rather admire them from a distance. (:

Hahaa its the opposites I guess :P
And some are quite nice and furry... or have no spines at all. Those I can pet :)

Look at this one... just very soft fluff and cute flowers :)

Oh Wow! This is such a gorgeous bloom @ewkaw Cactus flowers are so exquisite. Many thanks for sharing this with me. xox

Those Mammillarias are easy to grow, they will regenerate and flourish on your balcony.!!
And Oreocereus celsianus .... it is not growing very fast and have beautiful red spines and white hair... I love that plant very much. It will not disappoint you.

Thanks! I am hoping they will like it here :)

Congratz, your post has been resteemed, upvoted and… featured in The Daily Spotlights of 5 June 2018! Check it out to see who nominated you…

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59231.42
ETH 2599.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45