It's here! Chamaecereus Sylvestris in bloom :)

in #gardening6 years ago

With three humongous flowers that opened one by one. I was enjoying every single day of it. They didn't last long. About 2-3 days for each bloom, but boy oh boy, aren't they gorgeous? :) Bright tomato red with such delicate sparkly flowers.

Chamaecereus Sylvestris peanut cactus flower 1.jpg

Chamaecereus Sylvestris also called Peanut Cactus - this is my smaller one that I keep in the roughest conditions. I got a few tiny cuttings from a friend and as an experiment I planted this one in a clay pot and just left it outside in rain, sun and wind. I think I even poured water over him so hard few times and it washed away some soil from the pot :p. It doesn't have a place under the pot, so the water just runs through. But it is growing. And blooming! And now I will treat like that all my cacti.
I have another pot with them that I keep at home and it looks like long dreadlocks and doesn't bloom. Will have to photograph them both one day. They definitely grow better outside! They are smaller, but more compact and cuter.

Chamaecereus Sylvestris peanut cactus flower 2.jpg

By the way got a six pack of babies today, soil, volcanic lava rocks and clay pots. Gonna have a busy and thorny day tomorrow :)

Chamaecereus Sylvestris peanut cactus flower 3.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
(ƒ/10, 1/500, ISO100)
Click on the image to view full screen!

»»-------------¤-------------««

Qurator 3.0 - UPDATE POST - Guidelines | Registration Details | Tier Changes

To support the project
vote for @qurator as a Steemit witness on
steemit.com, or SteemConnect
Thank you.

Sort:  

Beautiful pictures!
I have such a cactus.
Thanks for the name of the cactus - I did not know him before.

Thank you :) You should show yours too. You have some nice ones there.... :)

Thank you! I'll show you later. I bought new cacti :-)

Yay! Can't wait :)

:-))))))

@Ewkaw warto nawet dla tych 3 dni! Kwitnie wprost cudownie! 🌼

Prawda? W przyszlym roku to moze te wszystkie male dziubasy zakwitna :)
Dziekuje!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

Very cool and great photos!

Thanks :) I am so proud of this one :D

Thanks, I did not know this plant until now.

Now you do :) and it is super cute!

Oh wow. That is a stunning looking plant. I'm Jealous! ;)

It is freaking awesome!
Thanks a lot :)

Oh wow! It is so astonishing that flowers that beautiful can come out of such a prickly plant! My succulents arrived! Come over and see!

Hahaha seems that all prickly plants have amazing flowers :) I dunno how do they do it :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59117.70
ETH 2597.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43