A Failed Project?

in #gardening5 years ago

This year I thought I'd renew my gardening repertoire and plant some new flowers I've never had before. Also decided to use seeds instead of seedlings. This is a challenge as you never know if those seeds are going to grow or not but that's the beauty of it.

There was a great variety of seeds at the store, there always is but you have to know what you can offer to those flowers and then choose what's suitable for your space and weather conditions. Otherwise you won't get any results.

sd3f6rqvlw.jpg

I did that, actually there was no need as I know what I'm allowed to choose for my balcony and the dianthus seemed to be perfect. I love these small dianthus flowers, these were my grandmother's favorite and maybe I was a bit nostalgic too when I chose these seeds.

Anyway, the instruction says plant the seed in May, June to get some flowers in September. I followed the instructions, except for the distance between the flowers. i chose to use a bigger pot and plant more seeds but made sure they have plenty of soil and water all the time.

izep3qa55p.jpg

It's mid September (almost) and this is what I got so far. A bunch of green, no sign of flowers, not even a bud. It's frustrating as I was expecting some nice flowers but it doesn't look like I'm going to get one. I wanted to throw them out at one point but could not. Some of you know how much I love flowers and plants in general, how can I throw a flower pot away while it's still green? Good thing I checked the packet and saw I have to wait till September.

That was then but now it's already September and I have nothing. I'm running out of patience and don't see any hope here, so I guess this will be my very first project gone very wrong. I'm still hoping to get something out of it, so I'll be back with an update.

If you've had dianthus and can give me some advice, feel free please.

steemit-border

Posted using eSteem Surfer

Do you use eSteem?
eSteem is a Mobile📱& PC💻 app. for Steem with great features. Also, you get Incentives posting through eSteem apps.

eSteem Spotlight; eSteem provides rewards for it top users in Leader Board with most Posts, Comments and Highest Earners.

Download eSteem for your Mobile📱
Android devices Google Play Store
IOS devices Apple Store

Download eSteem Surfer for your PC💻
Available for all OS Github


Join eSteem Discord https://discord.gg/UrTnddT

Join eSteem Telegram http://t.me/esteemapp

steemit-border

Vote for @good-karma witness

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just resteemed your post!
Check the latest update to learn more about me.
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Mine is doing the same thing. All of the potted ones are all green. Moved them into the full sun hoping it will help them to bolt, but I do not see any buds yet.

I did get one to bloom this year. It actually bloomed in Spring and again in late Summer. It grew in ground from a pack of wildflower seeds. There is a good chance it overwintered from seeds I planted last year, or maybe they were sewn in late winter.

Oh God! Looks like I'm not the only "lucky one". Sorry to hear that.

My mum has those in her garden. I am not sure now, but I think they are biennials, so they will only bloom next year.
Don't throw it away just yet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63036.79
ETH 3067.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82