What Good Is It To Have Some Stinky Brown Bugs And Ants In Your Garden?

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)

Which gardener likes any stinky bug? Not one of them, I had one on my gardening gloves before and we all know that the stink of that bug can make you run miles away when one gets crushed.

Okay, so I may be exaggerating on that but hey, can you blame me? I'm no fan of any stinky bug.

I don't know what this is called but it sure releases a very foul odor! ' was surprised when I saw this one stick out what looks like a brown needle in one of those flowers before he played dead on this leaf when I got closer. Is this actually a pest? There's more of those on our plum trees.

Who would have thought that those annoying aphid suppliers are not really just plain pests?

Who would have thought that they actually would pollinate these flowers that are future yummy berries!

Yeah, yeah, the bumblebees as well as the honey bees are also nipping on these ones.

I also caught one bug that looks like a bee but has the proboscis of a butterfly which unlike my Yellow it couldn't seem to fold his. It stays stuck out even when it was at rest.

Do you know which berry bears these flowers? 5% up for the first one who could guess which ones. Btw, only guess when you, too have these in your garden.

I wonder whether the ants do get to pollinate these tiny flowers whenever they go nipping in its pool of nectar. If they really do, I guess I owe them the yearly supply of these berries. Who would have thought!

Funny thing though, there seem to be not much of them these days and I wonder whether it was because the winter was a lot colder than before.

The aphids, I have seen them earlier when the bulbs were waking up but no signs of aphids these days though the Cherry trees are already in bloom.

Were they frozen or still taking their winter rest? Forecast says, there'd still be frost later in May so I guess am going to be late with everything in my garden.

Truth is ... those ants were from those berries in my veggie garden and the berries with the stink bug is from my backyard.

Not much sign of ants in the backyard. I did see a nest in the strawberry greenhouse but it probably already got flooded so nada.. not a sign of them at all, plus I have me one lizard in there so I haven't seen them right after I moved the pot of mandarin that serves as a cover for their nest.

I'm actually relieved of their absence but at the same time, I think I'd be needing plenty of ants in the coming years because I've already propagated the one with the stinkbug through cuttings.

Since it was all a successful deal, I intend to propagate the other one from my veggie garden, too, just because I find it sweeter than that of what I have in my backyard.

Hmm... maybe not, the bees are busily filling the bee house with larvae again so who needs those aphid suppliers! Hmp!

That stinky brown guy is still hanging out in the same momma berry plan.

Does he cause much damage to a plant? 5% up to anyone who could tell me that with a source.

This content's 100% mine . I took the pics with my D Eye.. Practicing ORGANIC GARDENING? Join us in the chat.



**TIP :
ONLY Upvote POSTS THAT ARE 6 DAYS OLD below to earn yourself curation rewards.



a2b.jpg

Sort:  

You got a 1.74% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @englishtchrivy!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

😍😍😍😍 little cute animal

thank you, so nice with the picture..

I think this is really natural beauty photography.This photography charming me

Aww, I've always kind of liked stink bugs...not really sure why. When I visited my grandmother last year her porch was crawling all over with stink bugs and she was swatting them left and right. What a mess :)

they look cute but the stink
ewe haha

During my adventure visit to Aye forest I captured similar bug, to the best of my knowledge this bug eat on elephant grass and guinea grass but I don't think they eat or act as pest to destroy farm plant, sometimes I used to see them on corn plant without no damage a bug which I sure about that usually destroy plants is rodent to the best of my knowledge regards this bug.

on corn?
shhhhh**t!
I got some growing in my strawberry greenhouse now
do they chew on them?
hmm.. maybe I should close the door but then .. sighs ..

They do chew on corn plant, but its like they in both sex, there are type which reddish in colour those most chew on dibble corn... by making thinning holes on corn leaf, beware of them coz where this buck is found, the colour type may likely be around... It is advisable that you look around, the reddish buck type always hide at the pelvic of a corn leave.

watching the pics today was fun awesome shots dear :D

increible tu publicacion saludos

Yes, bedbugs cause a lot of trouble in the kitchen garden,
I have every year in raspberries, tomatoes and eggplants especially!
Me, I pass manure of ferns that move them away.
Here is a useful link: https: //www.aujardin.info/fiches/punaise.php

hmm.. am sure these aren't bed bugs :D

Ah, it looks like .
Fortunately I change my glasses in September !! hihi
I'm starting to see the pictures less well ...

what a great introduction to useful bugs - I had no idea that they pollinate your plants - I figured that was up to the bees.. thanks for sharing - I love gardening - I have been making posts showing our landscaping efforts and am looking forward to starting our garden soon - best of luck to you in your garden - I hope you share results with us

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86