Welcome to Dan's Gardening and Birding Blog

in #gardening5 years ago (edited)

)


I have been writing my blog for well over 5 years and posting on Blogger (dansgardening.blogspot.com).  As the title implies, I write mostly about gardening and bird watching.  I focus mainly on vegetable gardening but also occasionally write about flowers. and shrubbery.

I have been an avid gardener since the 1970s inspired by my parents and grandparents.  My first love of gardening came from starting and growing Mammoth Sunflowers, which relates to my second topic, bird watching.  My Mom loved starting and growing tomatoes, which i also enjoy.  I particularly focus on the heirloom varieties since the flavors of these are second to none.  Some of the varieties my parents and grandparents grew are now considered heirlooms.

My posts deal with all aspects of gardening, from starting seeds to preparing the soil to cultivating to harvesting, and of course I document the process with many photos.  I also try some different vegetable varieties each season and evaluate them.

I also have enjoyed bird watching since the 1970s.  I remember making my own suet cakes by rendering beef suet and adding sunflower seeds.  I would not recommend this to anyone, especially if done indoors since it can be rather messy.  There were not suet cakes available to buy back them.  I also remember making my first bird feeder from scrap lumber, it even had a shingle on the roof!

My Dad was a plumber, so it only made sense that the bird feeder pole was a galvanized pipe mounted to the feeder using a pipe flange,  I still use this method today.  I remember feeding chickadees from my hand and overall really enjoying the birds.

Today I participate in Project FeederWatch  and The Great Backyard Bird Count. 

So take a look through my posts and enjoy the articles and photos.  Thanks for visiting.
      










Sort:  

Howdy from Texas, @dansgardening! I'm Nate, and I'm here to leave you a quick intro/welcome comment :) I live the birdwatching/gardening relationship. It's very cohesive and.cooperative, like Toby Hemenway talks about in Gaia's Garden. Yours will be a fun feed to watch, I'm sure.

Welcome to steem :) We're very glad you're here, and I hope you can dig yourself in and get pretty well established here! You'll find there's a good group of folks here with homesteading and sustainability on their mind. Not the least of which are @riverflows (creator of @naturalmedicine), @sagescrub (creator of @homesteaderscoop), @freedomtowrite and @freedompoint (creators of @ghscollective). They're the ones driving the sustainability bus on steem. Lots of others like @porters, @walkerland, @mountainjewel, @sustainablelivin (@mariannewest's profile for her Sustainable Living Podcast), @squishysquid, @senorcoconut, @vanessamidwife, @ppmsilver, @allyinspirit, @makinstuff, @minismallholding, @simplymike, @craigcryptoking, @papa-pepper, @pennsif, @wildhomesteading, and many many more are the ones in the community making it such a great group to be with. They're all well worth a follow.

Most communities on steem currently meet on discord, so that's a really handy app for steemians looking to get into the swing of things. It offers a simple, user-friendly messaging place where we can all talk and keep up off chain. There are hopeful developments coming for on-chain options, but those are probably a few forks away. Til then, our three main groups are Natural Medicine, Homesteaders Co-op, and Global Homesteading Collective. The NM and GHSC ones link to discord, the HSCO link is to the marketplace built by @sagescrub where we are able to buy and sell sustainably produced goods using steem, SBD, and USD as well as gift and barter economics. It's the first marketplace of it's kind, and we're all quite excited about it.

Another great tool for steem interaction is @ginabot. A splendid notification service that works through discord to let you know about steem interactions on chain. She'll let you know when you're mentioned, when people send you money, when certain folks make a post, or when posts are made with your favorite tags. Very very helpful, and I think most steemians use Gina.

One thing you'll find is that there are a lot of interfaces with the steem blockchain. There's steemit.com, busy.org, steempeak.com, partiko.app, d.tube, steepshot, dsound, and many others that all boast different features and benefits. I prefer steempeak, but it's a fun learning experience to try a few for yourself, as steemit is a very basic interface that leaves much to be desired. Thats an intentional situation though, as Steemit Inc (Stinc) has bigger things to worry about.

I hope this little introduction can help you a bit. Things like this weren't being done much during the hectic time when I joined steem. With the price of steem being down (you'll find nobody cares much about that), things have calmed down as the moochers and weak hands have left. The folks you encounter here are the ones that truly desire to be here and see promise in the platform. We're here for the long haul, and we hope you find value here as well. :)

Welcome,

Nate and the whole sustainability community of steem.

P.S. @dansgardening, I've set you to be the beneficiary of 75% of this comment's earnings. Guys, if y'all upvote this one, he'll get a bit extra ;)

Question for you Nate. When I write a post and click on the editor, why does the add photo prompt go away, I cant get the editor and the add photo prompt both working at the same time?? Thanks.

I wondered the same myself. I didn't really figure it out. If you're working from a desktop, you could try accessing via Steempeak.com which I think is a bit more user friendly. I'm just starting to use it now and everything is all there in one rather than having to switch between editor and markdown. When you log into it you will go via steemconnect. I'd recommend only using your active key, not your master key. This can be found by going into wallet and selecting the tab permissions.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for the info and the help, I will have to digest. There's a lot to learn in steemit.

Do you think steemiit will be around for the long haul?

Welcome @dansgardening :) Your garden and tomatoes look really beautiful. I am glad you came to steem, it seems you have a lot to share.. and there are many gardeners and homesteady type folks here!

btw I have given you a small delegation from our community account @homesteaderscoop to help you with some extra mana while you are growing your new account. I hope it helps!


Homesteaders Co-op

A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com

follow: @homesteaderscoop

Thank you for your kind words and your help, I love gardening and bird watching. I have blogged on Blogger for over 5 years but never got many followers or comments. I love steemit so far!

You're right.. steem is great for bringing us amazing people all together!

Thanks, yes PfeiferPfotos is my own copyright.

Congratulations @dansgardening! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply
You made more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

You've been visited by @thistle-rock from Homesteaders Co-op.

Welcome Dan!

It is always to exciting to find new homesteaders on the platform, and for me personally, your birding photos look like they are amazing!

We look forward to learning more from your expertise in gardening and so glad you joined the platform.


Homesteaders Co-op

A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com

follow: @homesteaderscoop

Great to have you here on Steemit. I hope you enjoy it and stick around. I can't add anything useful to what Nate's already said, so I'll leave it at that. :D

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh I'm so excited to meet you! This is great! My husband loves his birds. Whereabouts do you live? xx

Norwich, NY, central NY State

wonderful! Looking forward to follow you here on steemit! I'm a gardener too, and just bought a place in a forest, which started to make me interested in all the bird life here, so I will be very interested in your observations! <3

Looks like you are brand new here. Welcome @dansgardening!

Is PfeiferPfotos your own label? Some people watch for copyrighted materials really closely. I can't tell anymore.

Please share some more original bird photos, and more about your experiences every once in a while. I really enjoy it.

My curation interests usually include nature, animals, gardening, creative art, and bonsai.

@creativetruth

Interact with others in your comments, and you'll find a whole new level of fun on this blockchain. There are friends waiting to be discovered in every imaginable place in this wide world. I'm happy to assist if you ever have questions about how to post, use steem, SBD, Steem Basic Income, dustsweeper, delegations, powering up, bidding bots, etc.. There are also some popular dapps for steem people are happy to tell you about if you are curious why people use them.

I find that they like to eat evergreen berries, if you plant some junipers etc i bet lots of waxwings will stop by.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes they each mostly fruit I read, they are very rare at my house. I only saw them once before at lease 5 years ago, This year it was just the one day, haven't seen them since.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66367.17
ETH 3007.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71