Heirloom Tomato - Black Vernissage - So GLAD I Tried These!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

This is the first year I've grown the Black Vernissage Heirloom Tomato. I had no idea what to expect. The name is weird and the pictures of the tomato look a bit odd. The green striping was slightly off-putting to me when I first saw it, but I gave it a try anyway.

I'm Glad I Did!

This tomato is jam packed full of flavor! The size is perfect for salads. So far the plants have grown really well here in my South Texas climate. They are not really big plants so they are easy to manage.


image taken from my Instagram feed:
https://www.instagram.com/daddykirbs/

My plants were purchased from a local lady that is trying to build a business starting garden plants in the Spring. I bought a total of 10 plants from her this year. Below is the site where she purchased her seeds.


image created by me using screen capture from this site:
http://www.rareseeds.com/black-vernissage-tomato/


Resteem this post to make the stars sparkle brighter :)


Follow the Daddykirbs Journey

Daddykirbs_Logo_220.png

Do you love Waffles? Try this AMAZING Recipe found here on Steemit!

Sort:  

Good for you for using the Heirlooms.

Forgive me for not checking your blog to see if you already have, but preparing/saving seeds might make for a good post?

Resteemed and upvoted.

I don't think I have a post focused on that skill. I'll see what I can come up with :) Thank you!

That's another great thing about "heirlooms", besides the great flavors that you can't seem to get from the Hybrid "Beefsteaks as Big as Your Head" varieties, you only have to buy seed once (hopefully).

Correct! I love being able to save seeds knowing that I'm going to get the same (or better in some cases as they adapt to my area) fruit than before.

Not only that, buying tomatoes is always a crap-shoot, sometimes they're really good and sometimes they're like eating play-doh.

If you can save & propagate your own seeds, over the years, you'll figure out which varieties grow best and produce the best fruit in your area.

We even have commercial farmers who produce hothouse Tomatoes in the Winter (here in Michigan) and they're just not the same.

so true. I hate buying tomatoes, but sometimes ya just hafta :)

I am trying heirlooms for the first time this year. Black Krim and Cherokee Purple tomatoes. I can't wait to taste them.

Yay for first timers!! I'm sure you will be pleased. At a minimum you will learn what you don't want to plant next year ;)

Upvoted!

Well done for growing these tomatoes yourself. I think it is high time I get started too.
Cheers

Gotta try these. I have 4 different varieties of tomatoes growing now so maybe next year. Thanks for sharing. Following, upvoted and resteemed. Keep em coming! Just started to post a few pics myself of stuff. Maybe vids soon.

That's a cool looking tomato. Nice size. Looks bigger than cherry tomato but smaller than a mid-size tomato like an early girl. Do they produce a lot?

I wouldn't call it a heavy producer, but I am getting a nice harvest from it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64400.67
ETH 3506.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53