Our Next Nursery Chronicles: Adopting Roadside Survivors and Our First Moss TerrariumsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians! Blessed weekend!

Today was a day that I have decided to get out of the usual routine of crafting on cards and continue in the gardening aspect. One of the reason is that I am kind of in a crafters's block at the moment. haha.

Then again, getting your hands dirty in nature can also be quite therapeutic and moreover, there seemed to be a study about Earthing that actually helps a person to re-balance the overloaded "dirty electrons" that causes bad health. Either way, getting out and getting some oxygen is definitely beneficial in the long run.

Anyway

Back to gardening. As I have been actually busy with my day job, I have neglected this tiny little lawn I have as I have to leave for work early and only home after sunset. The lawn has turned into a really messy grassy plot where there are just all kinds of grass and weeds are popping up everywhere.


I actually have been trying to figure out how to keep my lawn as low maintenance as possible and I have noticed these little patches by the roadside that comes out of road cracks and road sides and spreads pretty well without letting any weeds into its patch, and maintained well spread out instead of growing vertically; so I have tried several times getting the time to scoop them up for my lawn.

Unfortunately due to procrastination I never get around to do so and they die off pretty fast during dry spells (the tar road is too hot for them) until the sudden rain this week.


So finally, with constant rain for the last few days the lawn is relatively soft and I could easily clear off the long grass and prepared a small section to have these little fellas transferred from the road side.


Don't get me wrong, these grass could actually be good if you have a dog at home or some chickens, as they seemed to have certain interesting properties in it. I remembered my family dog used to sniff them out and eat them, to help for a better pass motion or when it is not feeling too well; while chickens gradually just love grass and they produce really orange eggs for hens when you allow them to have both grain and grass as their diet.

Since I have neither, they are hard to maintain and it is better to make way for my experiment to see if roadside grass can be used as a proper lawn.

While clearing the grass, due to lots of rain I have also realised my damp soil have started producing moss. I usually will just clear them off and be done with it; but since in the spirit of recycling (see my first post how I started it) I have decided to make another transformation, which seems to be catching on in Kuala Lumpur

Moss Terrariums


It seems that it could actually be transformed into a sustainable ecosystem (plants in a sealed jar) and so, with curiocity, I have started picking up one by one from the damp soil where all the long grass were. and I managed to get a nice small pile.


Because the ground was damp and slightly muddy, the moss were all piled up in dirt, and I couldn't really distinguish them between mud and moss. I had to clean the pile of muddy soil and start feeling through for moss, with patience and not too rough as I didn't want to smear the moss structure.


Once I have sift through the first bucket of water I transferred them into another recycle plastic container (that used to pack the kiwi fruits I bought from the grocery) and let them soak in clean filter water for a while to keep them moist and clean.

They look like micro aquatic grass when you look close enough.

After filtering as much moss I could find, I have decided to place them in a recycled square plastic packed container from the stores as I didn't have any shallow pots; but hey, it's recycling! So these plastic packages (especially those that stores vegetables and fruits) can come in really handy!

Instead of using my hands that I could just mess up the surface of the soil, I have decided to use my crafting tweezers to carefully pick the moss up, determine which side is up and started placing them from one corner to another. This process actually takes time but it sure helped me to focus carefully and quiet my mind.

(seriously, those who have problems with attention span, should try this out)

And voila! After about 15 minutes, I managed to populate the moss all over the surface and the amount I found was just right. I have never properly care for moss before so this will be an experiment for me to see whether it will work or not.

So do stay tuned! If you would like to know my lawn and moss terrarium project, and I will try to keep you all updated as often as I can!

Thank You for Your Time

help-promo-a3.png
Please click on the logo to read why I have this project of 1000 SBD at the first place.

Sort:  

Wow this is a really cool experiment, I am so excited to hear how it goes! And great job using all of those recycled ingredients! I love it =D

@heart-to-heart The moss did not survive haha, but the "strays" are starting to grow, just that there's a need to clear the over growing grass asap to keep it from being devoured.

This is sensational.

This is gold standard material.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68208.95
ETH 3894.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69