Bucket potatoes and mystery beer

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

About 3 weeks ago I harvested my first bucket grown potatoes and this evening I decided to do another one to see if it would provide a better reward.
20170816_195330.jpg20170816_195423.jpg

I had both Sarpo Miras and Mayan gold in there but only the Sarpos grew in this one which is weirdish. They got to a decent size, not a huge harvest but I'm not sure if you could actually more than this in a 12 litre bucket.
20170816_195757.jpg

Here are the Mayan gold ones, heh, 3 tiny little ones; too bad as I love this variety. Save them for seed I suppose.
20170816_195835.jpg
All in all, it's still a bowl of potatoes from a single 12 L bucket, that I haven't touched since I planted them, so I can't complain too much.
20170816_200040.jpg

Now... today's aide in these arduous gardening tasks was a mystery beer. I got it from a shop nearby and it doesn't have a single English word or any latin alphabet based words on it either so googling for a translation was out of my reach. Yeah, I know I could have played with a cyrillic keyboard but that would have spoiled the fun.
20170816_194921.jpg

My keen observation skills and some silly phone character recognition software led me to believe this is called 'Millers brew' or something along those lines.
Maybe someone who can read Russian could help me out with this. @mdosev mate, I know you're not Russian but I think you're my safest bet atm.

The blurb from the back, I assume it's saying something about traditional methods and all that yada yada... heh.
20170816_195120.jpg

Now when it comes to the beer itself ... well, it's disappointing. I would say it a macro lager with nothing really traditional about it.
20170816_195233.jpg
Don't get me wrong, it's not a horrible beer, but plain lagers don't really do it for me anymore. Light malts, some sweetness, not a lot of bitterness and watery.

As for compliments, it's clear, clean tasting, nice fizzyness and pretty refreshing. It did the job.
20170816_201140.jpg

That's pretty much it for today, please let me know if my 'Miller's beer' is a good guess on the name of the beer.

Cheers

Sort:  

Hey those potatoes are great from the bucket. I have a few buckets growing right now just waiting till they are ready to harvest. Thanks for sharing. Upvoted and now following

Thank you! I've been enjoying your posts and how are those water melons doing?
I hope you'll beat my potato harvest and that you can keep those potato plant munching bugs under control. I was lucky I did not have to deal with them this year, only had to keep the pesky slugs in check.

Slugs ate all my cabbage. I tried beer in a dish, soap. Both did not work, so now I am trying DP. My watermelon got too heavy for my trellis so it fell off, in a wind storm and was only the size of an apple, just waiting to see if any of the others do the same. Thanks

Oh no, not the melons!
I feel sorry for your cabbage. Used up coffee keeps them away if you can sprinkle it around the area. This only works before they get started though. Last year I had to go with a slug repellent or I would have lost all my potatoes.

You could put the melons in pantyhose and tie it to the trellis for support. Not sure how well that would work once they get over a certain size but it's worth a try.

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @buzzbeergeek. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @costopher to be original material and upvoted it!
Do you like what @OriginalWorks is doing? Give it an upvote!

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

Congratulations @costopher! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59987.83
ETH 2418.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41