You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: In the Forest, Food is Free!

in #gardening7 years ago

Great name, Yes it is.
I live in Panama in a semi desert area, But you can walk around all day and just eat fruits and veggies. The garden of eden for sure.
Thanks for the post
I'm now following
Cheers

Sort:  

That's awesome to hear. I'd love to hear and see more about your experience walking around picking fresh abundant harvests. That sounds like the garden of eden indeed! Great to be connected.

I stayed at a permaculture farm in Cost Rica years ago ( Cascada verde) And became friends with the owner. He took me on a day tour that was mind blowing for me. I ate leaves, then flowers of all sorts, then roots ( 1 tasted like butterd mashed potatos ) he had ponds with freshwater clams others with fish. Unfortunaly I live on a rocky hill with little soil and next to no rain here.
Plants that are not native to this area have a tough time.
But we do ok, No water is wasted. I put a papaya tree at our shower outfall and in 5 months it was producing fruit.
Time for a walk around the yard with a camera I guess.
Stay tuned

Sounds like an awesome tour! Soil can always be built up on top of rocks. If you check out Ben Falk and his book The Resilient Homestead, he has been able to build a lot of soil on top of bedrock. He's in a colder climate but there could be some good techniques you could utilize. Looking forward to a video tour of your place!

Coming soon, But my lovely wife has set me off again LOL
I've got lots of pictures ( Too many actually ) and have ordered 4 huge dump truck loads of soil for landscaping. Usually 1/2 rocks and poor dirt. But little by little it's coming along. I'm mining along the roadway now. Taking what top soil I can find and making retaning walls with the rocks I've dug up, and putting the soil in that.
Getting back to were I started, I'm going to town to cool off at my favorite pool hall Here which got little attention. And led to This
Hope you enjoy them :-)
Chat soon

Right now it's Me Time

Nice! Sounds like you have lots of exciting projects evolving. Set up some timelapse videos, that would be so cool!

I was thinking of something like that. A photo every day for a year. some parts of our yard really change. In the dry season, lots of trees shed there leaves and the whole countryside turns brown.

Nice! I ordered something called a garden cam that is weatherproof and you can set it to take time lapses every from every 30 seconds to once a day for months at a time. Runs off batteries and stores photos to an SD card. I bet now, they have even more options available. You could always use a gopro too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63578.99
ETH 2611.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85