Protecting SeelingssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening7 years ago

Gardening where I spend the winter is quite challenging. Though the ambient temperature is perfect for growing, there are so many other factors that must be overcome. This is really hunter-gatherer country and not really suited for agriculture. Before the invasion of the conquistadors, the locals wandered around naked and simply lived off the land. I do a bit of that, but I love growing things and so I do whatever it takes (aside from assaulting the environment) to nurture the plants I grow.

I've already addressed a good way of getting seeds to sprout and root without being eaten. The next challenge is to protect them from all the hungry critters that can't wait for the plants to mature.

Planting directly in the ground is not viable. Gophers, moles, mice and other rodents abound. It wasn't always such a problem. There used to be lots of snakes. But most people are averse to snakes and so they kill them. Rattlesnakes were excellent at keeping the rodent population in check, but I'm one of the few people who save them and relocate them to safety whenever I find one close to a residence. Snakes like to stretch out on a nice, warm road in the evening and so automobiles destroy many more. In 1992, some overpaid government official decided that introducing wild turkeys, which were never part of this environment, was a bright idea. Now many of the king snakes, glass snakes, rosy boas and gopher snakes are endangered since turkeys love to eat snakes. Because of this imbalance the rodent population has exploded.

Anything that goes in the ground must be surrounded by wire. I have built a few wooden boxes with wire bottoms and this works.

Once my seedlings have their first true leaves, out they go into the garden box. But rodents aren't the only problem.

To protect my seedlings from cut worms, I slice a plastic bottle into rings and then slip them over the plants. To further protect the plants from above ground animals like rabbits, I cover the plants with wire baskets. In addition, to protect the entire garden from deer, I surround it with plastic deer fencing.

Yes, it's absurd, but that's what it takes if you aren't willing to blast all the animals with bullets and douse the plants with pesticides. It's made me realize that from Mother Nature's standpoint, agriculture is truly aberrant behavior.

But garden I must.

Sort:  

What a cheap and great way to stop unwanted nibblers from invading and ruining plants/seedlings.

I know you can purchase wire baskets like that at our local dollar store. Great idea!

It may not stop moles or underground dwellers but it should deter bunnies/squirrels or maybe other small four-legged critters.

@originalworks

These are indeed Dollar Store wire baskets. This was a best kept secret of mine since I never see more than a few baskets in any given store. I told my oldest son about them and now we scramble for them when a supply arrives. They're cheap and they last quite a few seasons. I plant in them as much as I use them for covering.

Glad you mentioned squirrels. I didn't include them in my post, though they are the biggest problem of all. Had a couple of cats here that did a good job of keeping them at bay, but now we're down to one. She still does a pretty good job, but it's hard for her to keep up without snakes to help her.

We have so many squirrels in my area. I can sit on back porch and see a few dozen scampering EVERYWHERE... one day they'll get into my garden... that will not be a good thing

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @citizenzero to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Congratulations @citizenzero! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Ahhhh, how glad I am you are back and posting! This was just great again!!! Can see you placing all the protection around the little plants - I guess I will copy some of your advice and knowledge next season here... the voles have just killed 3 of my cellery plants eating up the roots.... ;-) We have rabbitfence underground with the jerusalem artichokes already, but I might just do the same with much more, haha! Cheers to you from the Seven Mountains in Germany and may @blocktrades or @hendrikdegrote pass by for you very soon!!!!

It is really insane down here. Up north it's green everywhere so a few voles aren't much of a problem. I like to make deals with all the little people and I told the voles they could have only one of my cabbages. They seemed to honor this contract and only one of my cabbages had any appreciable damage. They ate it right down to the stem but left the other cabbages alone. Weird, eh?

The only other constant threat is from the deer. They have lots to eat, but they seem to prefer exotic food from my garden. Last year I did have a bear tear down my plastic deer fence to get to my plum tree. Then the deer got in and finished off my garden. Even after I fixed the fence, the deer had learned that they could rip through the plastic with their front hooves so the fence was useless after that. Being the scrounge that I am I had quite a bit of old wire fencing lying around. I hastily installed it and it worked to keep them out. It looks like crap but it was an emergency. (and I'm too lazy and cheap to go buy new wire fencing since this was only a temporary garden until I got my cabin built.)

Still working on these contracts here - does not quite work out as well as on your side of the ocean... Maybe the voles just realize how it works for the kids... they kinda sit there saying: but it tastes just soooooooo gooooo, mommy... grmf... time will work this one out I guess... Oh, and btw. I did sing as loud as I could for you today on the potatoe-peeling-philosophy, haha - let me know if you were able to hear more than a whisper ;-)

It still amazes me that decisions keep being made to introduce animals where they don't belong. I guess some just won't learn from history. Every time we try to get rid of something we think is a problem, it just knocks thing out of whack and we end up with a worse problem.

Some local hunting club petitioned the Fish and Game department to allow this. Now the govt. gets money from issuing turkey tags. Problem is that most of the turkeys hang out on private property and the hunters can't trespass, though some do sell access for hunters during the season.

The introduction of this pest not only disrupted an already endangered ecology, the new food source caused an explosion in the mountain lion, bobcat and coyote populations, which impact the cattle ranchers and the exurbanites who want to raise llamas or wrinkle cats or whatever. It was a bone head move right from the start. For awhile there were turkey chicks everywhere but that has stabilized somewhat. Before the turkeys arrived there used to be beautiful and endemic mountain king snakes ringed in three colors like a coral snake. I haven't seen one in years.

Should have guessed there'd be money involved somewhere. So sad about the king snakes, they must have been quite something to see.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 65730.77
ETH 3446.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32