You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Protecting Seelings

in #gardening7 years ago

What a cheap and great way to stop unwanted nibblers from invading and ruining plants/seedlings.

I know you can purchase wire baskets like that at our local dollar store. Great idea!

It may not stop moles or underground dwellers but it should deter bunnies/squirrels or maybe other small four-legged critters.

@originalworks

Sort:  

These are indeed Dollar Store wire baskets. This was a best kept secret of mine since I never see more than a few baskets in any given store. I told my oldest son about them and now we scramble for them when a supply arrives. They're cheap and they last quite a few seasons. I plant in them as much as I use them for covering.

Glad you mentioned squirrels. I didn't include them in my post, though they are the biggest problem of all. Had a couple of cats here that did a good job of keeping them at bay, but now we're down to one. She still does a pretty good job, but it's hard for her to keep up without snakes to help her.

We have so many squirrels in my area. I can sit on back porch and see a few dozen scampering EVERYWHERE... one day they'll get into my garden... that will not be a good thing

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @citizenzero to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65910.66
ETH 2696.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88