HOW I MADE MY LITTLE HUGELKULTUR

in #gardening7 years ago

Well I needed a way to use up the old logs and trimmings from my fruit trees. I thought a hugelkultur would be great to plant my nut and fruit trees around and it has paid off. First I cleared an area in the food garden then dug a ditch you might call it. I placed the logs in first and threw a heap of Dynamic Lifter into the whole. next I layered the thickest of the tree cuttings over the logs and over those the twiggy leafy cuttings. Over this mound I threw the soil back over the mound. Now around this hugelkultur I planted a almond tree, mandarin, lime, column apple and there was already a nectarine tree growing near it. After about a year my trees improved greatly but the top was always too dry to grow anything useful on it so I got creative. On the top I placed a special raised core bed, into the raised bed I laid a lot of tree cuttings down the centre of the bed. This is meant to feed and hold in the moisture for the plants that will be growing in there. Then I added good soil and compost into the core bed and I must say it did rather well. My veggie garden is only a tiny one so the space needs to be used well. There are 2 more raised core beds dotted in my garden and all of them did very well. It's winter here now and the beds will get a clean up ready for spring. Hope you have enjoyed my ideas and I will show the update soon, thank you for reading my story.

FB_IMG_1471308961000.jpg

FB_IMG_1471308967085.jpg

THE TREE CUTTINGS I USED.

![FB_IMG_1471308973672.jpg]
()

I THREW DYNAMIC LIFTER OVER THE LOGS TO HELP THEM ROT.

FB_IMG_1471309045430.jpg

THE HOLE NEED NOT BE A DEEP ONE.
20160710_160026 - Copy.jpg

NORMALLY YOU'D PLANT INTO THE TOP OF A HUGELKULTUR BUT I GOT CREATIVE AND PLACED A RAISED BED OVER THE HUGELKULTUR. IT WAS ALWAYS TOO DRY TO PLANT INTO AND IT'S PURPOSE WAS TO CATER TO THE TREES SURROUNDING IT. AS YOU CAN SEE THERE'S A MOUND OF TREE CUTTINGS IN THE CENTRE OF THE RAISED BED AND IT ONLY NEEDS TO BE FILLED WITH A MIXTURE OF GOOD SOIL AND COMPOST.

20160710_160000 - Copy.jpg

THE CUTTINGS WILL OF COURSE ROT DOWN SO AS TIME GOES ON THEY NEED TO BE REFILLED BEFORE BEING PLANTING INTO.

20160710_160120.jpg

3RD RAISED CORE BED BUT STILL IMPORTANT IN MY TINY FOOD GARDEN.

Sort:  

Nice post, very informative!

Thank you.

Love your raised bed frames!! - We're going to do raised beds with the Hügelkultur premise, sticking logs and wood things in the bottom and then soil and such on top. Your bed frams, are those a pre-made kit or did you make them yourself? They're slick!

Thank you, I bought them as I found them cheaper to buy rather than to make. It's amazing how well they worked in the first year but should do better next season once things start to rot inside the beds.

Where'd you get them?? I wanna seeeeee! Haha

Have you heard of Bunnings, that's the place she says smiling. Going there later this week to buy what's needed for my watering system for the new property we are preparing for when we move.

Ah no, I was hoping you got them online or something! Hahah.

Very interesting. I have never heard of a Hugelkurtur.

It's an old German idea having been used over time there.

Awesome post! We are huge suporters of hugelkulture! We have big plans for some beds in our fruit guild! Resteemed!

Awe thanks so much and I can't wait to get a couple of larger ones happening on the new property. They really make all the difference.

thank you.

Hey , just followed ya back! Nice article on huglekulture! I've never tried it but I've heard and seen a lot about it. i'm gonna have to give it a go one day!

Thank you and the beauty is they can be small like this one or many metres long and quite high if that's how you like to have them.

Very nice! I love your garden. Thanks for sharing it with us.

Hey there, we have a pretty strong Team Australia community going here on steemit to support each other. If you'd like to be part of it, then please check out this link: https://steemit.com/teamaustralia/@choogirl/team-australia-new-recruits-update-11-07-17-a-challenge-is-coming

Sorry for some reason I'm not getting notifications, I'll have a looksy and thank you, following.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60318.52
ETH 2983.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78