Team Australia new recruits: update 11/07/17: A challenge is coming!

in #teamaustralia7 years ago (edited)

Another day, another bunch of new recruits to introduce! We have a few excellent photographers in this group, which is nice. I like a good photo. I find myself upvoting a lot of quality images lately because: 

  1. I appreciate art and I like the idea of people getting paid for it now rather than when they are dead, as has happened with artists historically; and 
  2. I'm really crap at taking photos so basically I’m in awe of anyone who can snap and edit a good shot. 

Hmm, so what else has been happening? Well, just a few hours ago @sirknight released a cryptic post about steemlords. I think it’s safe to say:  

A challenge is coming! 

Image source

Of course this means we need to strengthen our numbers. However, I get daily applications for Team Australia so no worries there. Plus I still trawl through the relevant tags to find newbies so I have a steady stream of applicants to work with.

As I mentioned in my last update, I’ve taken pity on teamGB so I've been helping @tremendospercy find Brits. So far I’ve located 35. Since they don’t have a cool recruitment process like us, I’ve been promoting the Minnow Support Project (MSP) and encouraging them to come say hi in TeamGB on discord. My here goal is to get the newbies more engaged in steemit and enjoy being under the comforting wing of the MSP.

Image source

Both Perc and I have chatted with a few of them so that’s going well. The time difference means it’s easier for me to chat with Europeans than Aussies even though I’d LOVE to chat more with you guys. The exception of course is the legendary @sammosk. He’s always in there, so much so that I’ve come to the conclusion he is in fact one of the bots since he does not appear to require sleep. 

Housekeeping

Existing Team Australia members, please go here and follow everyone that’s been added since you last checked. 

Be sure to check out @centerlink, who is busy putting Aussie-battler tax dollars to work in the form of dole payments for posts, as well as showcasing Australia's most worthy dole recipients. 

And don’t forget our very own Minister for Welfare @ausbitbank has created a new bot called @discordia, which you can use to increase your upvote moolah. Some of the proceeds will support @centerlink so give it a try.

I've already discussed the the awesome Minnow Support Project but if you haven't checked it out, the details on how to join are here and here.    

Candidate 1 

Name and bio 

@tmyster is a Queenslander who likes the X Files, the Killers, and cats. He lives with two Siamese cats and is a self-proclaimed cat whisperer after watching the MTV show of the same name. Sadly one of his cats is MIA just now and @tmyster hopes for his safe return soon.

@tmyster has travelled extensively throughout his life with his first international trip occurring at age six as an unaccompanied minor. His luck was definitely in as he got bumped up to first class (nice!) and got a looksy inside the cockpit. I remember going in the cockpit too as a kid. You’d probably get arrested if you got within two metres of it today. Despite all his travels, he still loves that feeling of being home when the rubber meets the tarmac on Australian soil. 

Fun fact 

“I managed to sneak onto the X Files set as an extra when they filmed an episode in Las Vegas. I slipped in with the extras along with another person who also snuck in. It wasn't a massive role, we walked up and down the street behind the main characters, but hey I can at least say I was on the show!” 

The X Files was awesome (even if it did require a massive time commitment just to keep up) and this is a cool story. I like your fun fact.

Candidate 2 

Name and bio 

@dogwithablog is the second non-human entry into Team Australia after @ant.facts. This one year old pooch lives in Sydney and is a Shih Tzu x Maltese x Poodle. 

@dogwithablog likes playing with her friends at the beach, sleeping, eating, and thinks dogecoins sound cool. She loves meeting people and licking their legs as they walk past her. Sometimes she gets so excited she does a little wee (lol). Her mum says she’s social butterfly, so @dogwithablog has come to steemit to spread her little wings (or should that be paws?). 

Fun fact 

“I think I might be a food addict. In particular my favourite foods are popcorn, eggs and chicken. I have a human big sister called Sofia and I write my blog while she is sleeping or at school. I can't write it while she's awake because it has to be like Secret Life of Pets.” 

I’m impressed that a dog that wees when it gets excited can keep a secret blog. You must be super smart. Sofia better not leave her ATM card and pin number lying around. 

Candidate 3 

Name and bio 

@myday is a Western Australian who lives in Sydney with his girlfriend and two kittens. His goal for his steemit blog is to share parts of his day through his eyes and camera lens. He is well travelled and has taken hundreds of thousands of photos along the way, which he hopes to share here. 

@myday works for an imaging company where he feels very lucky to be able to help others with their photography. He has a strong passion for the visual medium, storytelling and networking. He is also running a monthly photo competition, with 100 SBD up for grabs (first prize is 50 SBD). If you are good at taking photos then you should definitely check that out here.     

Fun fact  

“There is another person out there in the world who is identical to me. I'm an identical twin, and yes we can read each other's minds!” 

The Simpson’s has taught us so much in life including, there’s always an evil twin (aka Bart's evil twin Hugo). This begs the question “which one are you?” 😁 

Candidate 4 

Name and bio 

@watch-chronolog is from Perth, where he consults and runs a few businesses. This includes an Australian coffee start up dealing with coffee pods. Topics he enjoys include food, travel, inspirational stories, steem for business, networking, and watches – with over 30 in his collection. (Ah watches are to men what shoes are to women!)

@watch-chronolog enjoys participating in social and community services and bringing smiles to the faces of others and his own. In the spirit of community, @watch-chronolog recently started a steemit meet-up group in Perth. In the first meeting he met two other steemit users. The next one is on 15 July. If you live in Perth you should go. The details are listed here

Fun fact 

“I love to sing and play the guitar in my spare time and I write my own songs.” 

Nice. You should record them and post them on your blog. People like that. 

Candidate 5 

Name and bio 

@paradigmblue is a medical sales rep based in Melbourne who gets to travel around Australia and New Zealand as part of his job. As often as he can, @paradigmblue gets his camera out as he really enjoys photography as a creative outlet. His style of photography is HDR – where he takes a normal exposure, one under exposed and one over exposed and blends them into one image.  

@paradigmblue shares a cool story on his blog of proposing to his wife on a beach called Anse Source d'Argent in the Seychelles. It's National Geographic's No 1 most photographed beach in the world and where he took this amazing sunset photo (below).  

Fun fact  

“Well I don't know if it's fun but it was a fact. When I bought my first DSLR, I was literally ready to smash it against the wall because I couldn't take pictures with it. But then I started consuming tutorials from the best university in the world, YouTube, and gradually built my skill set to the point where think I can take a decent shot.” 

Having looked through your blog I think it’s safe to say you’ve passed with flying colours from the University of YouTube. You should enter @myday’s competitions. 

Candidate 6 

Name and bio 

@deterrencepolicy is a grad student that says he has too much time on his hands. He’s originally from Melbourne but recently moved to Canberra to complete a Masters in International Relations at the Australian National University. He is currently researching moral issues surrounding warfare and international life in general in preparation for his thesis.   

@deterrencepolicy’s hobbies include photography, travelling (most recently to Japan), and 3D CGI (although he’s not very good at it apparently). He has some great tips on his blog on how to take portraits (dude, you should also enter @myday’s competition) and a photography manual for beginners (which I should study). 

Fun fact 

"When I was younger I broke my arm (the same arm) four times doing various silly things including martial arts restraints and falling off a trampoline." 

Hmm, really? Another fun fact that involves broken bones? I’m clearly repeating myself now by saying broken bones are not fun. I think you’ve been hanging out with those South Africans over in Perth @bmj and @nathanmj who also think this is a fun fact.   

@sirknight, please add these new members to Team Australia. 

 

The rules for joining Team Australia

If you’re not yet a member and want to be, this is what you need to do:

  1. Follow all the existing members @teamaustralia.
  2. Vote here for our resident steemit witness @ausbitbank.
  3. Comment below or DM me on steemit chat or Discord that you want to join.
  4. Link your introduction post so I can find out a bit about you. If you’re new to steemit you'll have to write one so use the introduceyourself tag to help boost your following.
  5. If it’s not mentioned in your introductory post, tell me which city and country you’re in, cos let's face it, a lot of us live in Australia's fourth largest city - London.  
  6. If you’re not Aussie tell me why you should be a teamaustralia ambassador. 
  7. Tell me a fun fact about yourself. This can be anything. For example, maybe you run a successful business, or you have eight kids and three dogs, or you rode your bike across Amercia, or you won the blue ribbon for javelin throwing at sports day back in high school, or Toadie came into the pub you work at one day and you served him a beer, or, maybe you can fit 55 maltesers in your mouth like Ed Sheeran can. It doesn’t matter what it is, I want a fun fact about you!

Once I receive this information I will try my best to write a good introductory paragraph about you for the official Team Australia membership updates. So the better your information is, the better I can make you sound. Where relevant, please use the teamaustralia and australia tags to promote your work. I will try and post weekly updates unless there is a lot of interest, in which case I will try and post sooner.  

Sort:  

Hey @choogirl! Thanks for the introduction and writeup :)
Really looking forward to being part of #teamaustralia and getting to know more of this awesome community!
Cheers!
@watch-chronolog

You're welcome!

This post gets a 12.25 % upvote thanks to @choogirl - Hail Eris !

Congrats, everyone here is on the dole now - thanks for the update @choogirl

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by choogirl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Have an upboat. <3 Thanks for the mention!

Thanks dude! See you in discord.

Thanks for the inclusion @choogirl - very much appreciated. I'll be sure to check out all the links above.

My pleasure.

Nice post. Followed you. Please follow me.

This is 'most excellent' STEEMIT Community News! CN.

Welcome new recruits! Great job Choo!

Hi Everyone! Thanks @choolgirl for the intro and the warm welcome to #teamaustralia. Still getting my head around steemit and enjoying the interaction. If your interested in Australian Landscapes/ photography then check out my blog, thanks again @tmyster! + Upvoted!

You're welcome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57207.57
ETH 2995.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26