Reclaiming The Backyard Firepit, Part 12

in #gardening7 years ago

Yesterday's post was mostly focused on the continuing process of weed removal and prevention.

I knew it was likely to be rainy today, so I did a little more yesterday than I let on. Definitely two posts' worth!

I fixed the double-decker tomato cage contraption for the pole beans. I had two built, but one of those fell apart. The tape had rotted. Plus, I needed to construct one more. A little gorilla tape (heavy-duty duct tape) and we're good to go!

Just for safety's sake, I also taped together the prong ends that were sticking up in the air. It looked like an accident waiting to happen, so more gorilla tape blunts the problem.

Pole beans need a little space to breathe, so I didn't want to crowd the plants too much. I stuck with four holes, two seeds each. I like a little insurance, in case not all of them sprout. I'm using McCaslan variety from Livingston Seed.

This droopy guy was what prompted me to get on with the planting. After a nice rain last night, it's perked up considerably. I also noticed I'd forgotten the cage, so I put that in place this morning. Details, details....

Previously, I'd mentioned that we'd have a green pepper in the mix. Hubby changed it up a bit and opted to go with a Sweet Banana, instead. We've had good luck with these in the past, so fingers crossed for another productive one.

This is the trellis I'm using for the peas. I need to anchor it more securely, but I think I can address that when I figure out what I'm going to do with the two outer buckets in regards to a climbing structure. I have a feeling more gorilla tape is going to be involved.

I'm pushing my luck with crowding here, too. Six holes in the two outer buckets, five in the center one - one seed per hole. I'm going to be watching both the peas and the beans for sprouts. That part drives me nuts... lol!

I did plant three more buckets - the ones intended to be for brussels sprouts. That's when I noticed that my 'brussels sprouts' were actually cabbages! Dammit... That's what I get for being in a hurry. These were on a table next to the brussels sprout plants, I just glanced at the info stake picture. Dummy me didn't READ the info. So, I guess I'm growing cabbages this year, too! I was so disgusted with myself, I didn't even snap pictures.

The zucchini didn't get planted, but I did leave it outside to acclimate. I'm still not sure where it's going to land. By the time I gotten this far, the rain was moving in and it was getting dark. Time to pack it all up for the day!

Stay tuned...

Upvote, ReSteem,

THANKS FOR YOUR SUPPORT!

Sort:  

I like your bean trellises, I wouldn't have thought of that.

Thanks! I think I used them for snow peas last time I had a garden... a hundred years ago. It works pretty well and the nice thing is you can dis-assemble them if needed for future projects.

I bet there will be a great harvest soon!

Looking good! I've got 36 little baby tomato plants in my kitchen window right now. I'm probably going to try your bucket idea with a few of them and then plant a few in the yard. Maybe give a few to relatives. You're going to have a nice harvest eventually.

Thanks! It's getting there. If you're going to try the buckets, you should know these have about 8-10 holes drilled in the bottom, plus some rocks to help them drain. The rest is topsoil. I'll probably add some sort amendments in a few days just as a boost.

Wow, 36 plants! That's a lot of harvest to plan for even gifting a few away. Are you going to do any preserving? (I'll freeze stuff, but think I've had enough of canning. Lol!)

Thanks. I didn't know I should do that. I would have just stuck them in the buckets with no prep work. Last year I had 2 tomato plants and no tomatoes grew. It was weird. i used Topsy Turvys which hang from the ceiling and grows them upside down. I bought a pack of seeds this year instead of buying already started plants from the store. I figured out of that many plants I'd get at least one tomato. We have an two freezers so I can always freeze some if I actually get a crop.

You're welcome. I didn't want them to drown. With as many as you're starting with this year, you should definitely see some production. I'm betting you're going to be glad you have two freezers. ;~D

That sounds as bad as me. :-)
I have 12 tomato plants in the greenhouse, including the cherry tomato plant, and 9 plants out in the garden. I also have several more plants waiting to give away or plant.

The peas and beans are going to sprout. They are easy ... uh ... I am not going to use a word that rhymes with easy.

But starting plants indoors and then transplanting them takes some serious talent. Keep up the patience!

It's a little late in the season to start from seed, but it's been so wet, there's not been much choice.

The other plants I can't take credit for. I picked them up at a local vendor. That's how I ended up with cabbages instead of brussels sprouts. Lol! Maybe next year I'll try the start 'em indoors for transplant route.

Looking good there :)

Thanks! I'm almost glad for the rain today. Forces me to rest a bit. ;~D

My aching shoulders agree with you!

Time to relax the I think :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94