Reclaiming The Backyard Firepit, Part 5

in #gardening7 years ago

Frustration


I had hoped to get started on laying down the landscaping fabric on the section where I'd cleared so many weeds. I don't want to give those things a chance to take over again.

The forecast is NOT helping!


So, it looks like Thursday is going to be my next chance to really make some serious progress.

Plan 'B' was to start getting the buckets ready. I need to remove the top few inches or so of soil. That should take care of the majority of those weeds. I'll add back some fresh soil, after I get done using them as weights to hold down the fabric from my Plan 'A' weed control measures.

That didn't work out either, as the wind was too raw to be outside for any length of time. The thermometer may say 50+ degrees (F), but it feels like 40. Brrrrr....!

So, in the meantime, I guess I can give a little more thought to what to plant in the buckets. Hubby loves tomatoes, so at least one of those. Probably a Roma, because they're so meaty and versatile. I'm not a fan of tomatoes, so that's why one is enough. Same with bell peppers, so one of those will do, as well. After that, though, I'm thinking maybe 3 buckets in a group for pole beans. I'd like a second grouping to balance things out, so perhaps snow peas.

That accounts for eight buckets. I have, if memory serves, twenty total. I'm going to stay away from herbs this year as we don't use enough to make it worthwhile. Well... maybe a basil plant to go with the tomatoes. Other than that, I think I'll stay with veggies. I really like brussels sprouts, plus they're just an interesting looking plant. Come to think of it, they get very tall, so they could do double duty as a privacy screen.

This has definite possibilities...

Stay tuned... !

Sort:  

That's a good update Deb.

I rescued a tomato plant the year I grew my pile of hot peppers and that plant, after it was nursed back to health, ONE plant, yielded me almost 60 tomatoes of various sizes, some of them huge.

I would have gotten a bunch more if I had a healthy plant and for the full season but that plant taught me a lesson that summer.

Thanks, bud.

It's amazing one plant can generate so much fruit! We've learned our lesson on that over the years. I'm trying to be realistic, but dang, it's easy to get carried away. Lol!

I hope you do not mind but I am getting ready for my offline time and if you are online, I would like you to check something......... this post here and now is my 9999th post Deb.

I am going to make one more comment and not comment for a few mins, in the hopes you see it.....

I wanted to honour your friendship by making SURE you were the 10 000th post! You have been such a good friend to me.


Deb, this is my 10, 000th post as I type this, and I wanted it to be with you, since you have been such a good friend, I had decisions to make as this moment approached.

Thank you for being a friend and I hope you do not mind my last 2 posts here on this, spammy for trying to savour the moment and honour your kindness to me.

Here it is, my 10k post!

Only @mindhunter, @papa-pepper, #jlufer, @thecryptofiend, and @ace-1-8 have more posts than me. Human wise, LOL< I do not count the bots ahead of us hahahaha!

Thanks for your kindness and loyalty and friendship Deb. I am signing off now, out of my 10 000th post and was happy to do this intentionally, with you.

I appreciate you a lot.

Wow, bud, I'm so honored! I'll return the gesture when I hit 10,000, deal? ;-p

What an awesome milestone! You ought to print out a screenshot and hang it nearby. That's just as much an achievement as any of your previous efforts have brought your way.

Standing ovation and bravo, @barrydutton! Well done!

I will see you at 10k Deb!!

I hit the 10k post count last nite - I am top 10 all time now in total post count..... I am 6th if you take out the bots and only count humans LOL!

https://steemit.com/steemit/@barrydutton/some-good-news-steemit-milestones-thanks-i-hit-10-000-posts-finally-lol-a-fun-post-includes-milestone-stats-overview

Deal!

Dude, you are the Energizer Bunny. It's going to take me a while to catch up. I'm closing in on a staggering 1500. LOL!

1500 a week, should be NP if you discuss the changes to your sked w your plants, the husband, and all the furry people

LOL

You have been a great friend and I appreciate you a lot. The post is up now, there are a ton of replies coming on stuff so I am trying to catch up!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59203.63
ETH 2522.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51